Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

That review thing: ‘And Then We Ran’ by Katy Cannon

A book about two young people getting married as a means of escape. Yes. Yes it is.

And let me tell you now: it’s pretty darn glorious.

There’s something so shocking about it, isn’t there? Two young people, nearly adults but not quite, running off to Gretna Green but supposedly in a very serious and platonic way.

It’s reckless. It’s crazy. They’re obviously not thinking.

But the best bit is… They actually are. I’m not going to ruin this with spoilers, but there is something so real about the thought process to thus whole scheme that I was down with it.

And why shouldn’t it work? If two people are committed to each other and have the same goals, what does age matter?

Here’s the full blurb, FYI:

A road-trip story about following your dreams and embracing the unexpected.

Megan knows what she wants out of life and she intends to get it, whatever her parents say.

Elliott has given up on all his plans for the future – but then Megan bursts into his life with a proposal that could change it forever.

Together they embark on a road trip to escape their hometown and chase their dreams. But life is a journey and not even Megan can control where theirs will lead…

For me, this book spoke to my 17 year old self. I went to university because I literally had no other plan (that I thought would be acceptable) and ended up applying late, moving out, doing the whole freshers thing and HATING IT. I was back home by Christmas.

It just seemed like what I HAD to do. I wasn’t ready to be a fully fledged adult but I didn’t want to let my family or my peers down by admitting that straight away.

There are so many different layers to ‘And Then We Ran’ I think you could peel it apart for a week.

It’s sweet. It’s a little bit bonkers. But it’s also very real. And it was a reading experience similar to that of when I read a Sarah Dessen book. Addictive and has a lot of muchness to it. It also doesn’t end up where you think it will and that’s really fun too.

I whizzed through it because I couldn’t stop reading. And that’s tell tale sign that it’s a good ‘un. 

‘And Then We Ran’ is out April 6th from Stripes! *Received with thanks from the publisher through NetGalley. Opinions, as always, all my own.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

