Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Seven Days of You by Cecelia Vinesse

I ❤ Japan.

Ok, so I’ve never been so I cannot know for sure. But I love what I’ve seen and heard about it, and one day (hopefully sooner rather than later) I will go there. So this ingrained adoration of Japan, and especially Tokyo, was what drew me to this book. Was it everything I hoped for?

Welp, it definitely rekindled my wanderlust. However, I wouldn’t call it an easy read, but I’ll detail why.

Overall plot – I enjoyed the concept of this very much. The idea that Sophia’s send off is completely “ruined” by the return (and welcome) of a guy she has somewhat of a complicated past with. Complicated because they parted terribly.

Here’s the blurb, FYI:

Sophia has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States. Seven days to say good-bye to the electric city, her wild best friend, and the boy she’s harbored a semi-secret crush on for years. Seven perfect days…until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Jamie and Sophia have a history of heartbreak, and the last thing Sophia wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. Yet as the week counts down, the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her. And Jamie is the one who helps her pick up the pieces. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye?

Relationships – I really dug the dynamics between the characters. Whether that be on a friendship level or a romantic one. It was really cool to see these explored.

Setting – YAAAS BISH! It’s TOKYO! Oh my days. I loved the setting. How could I not? And I think because I’ve watched many video on YouTube and done a shit tonne of my own research on the place it was really exciting for me to recognise the places and the words. #accomplishment – I know stuff.

The downside? Even though I found this to be quite the page turner, I did find it lacking in clarity in places. There were moments that took a couple re-reads to understand what was going on. I’m not sure if it’s because it was so quickly expressed, or if it was just that I had a wonky ARC (the e-galley I had wasn’t the best. The punctuation was all skewed) but some parts that I knew were supposed to be real heavy, or poignant, lost their momentum because the exposition wasn’t entirely clear.

That said, would I recommend this book? Heck yeah. If you enjoy reading about different countries and want a taster of the kind of culture and way of life in Japan, then this book will do that. It doesn’t get deep into it, and I don’t think it needed to. But it was just enough to keep me excited about it.

Emotionally driven, it’s a fun read. I say “why not read it?” Karaoke bars, cool settings and KISSING! What more do you need?

*Received from the publisher via NetGalley. THAAANKS! Opinions all my own.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Review: Seven Days of You by Cecelia Vinesse

  1. Glad to hear that you enjoyed this one! I’m quite intrigued by the premise but I’ve heard mixed reviews for it – mostly that the setting really doesn’t feel that authentic and you can basically substitute the word “Japan” or “Tokyo” with any other city and it’d be OK. Do you find that to be the case?

    1. I don’t think so, no. Maybe because I already know quite abit about Tokyo I could easily fill in any gaps with my own knowledge, but I thought it represented a “lived in” Tokyo rather than a “tourists” Tokyo, and did it well. 🙂

Talk to me!

