Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Reviewing Ariadnis by Josh Martin

I wanted to get this review out sooner. But you know how life goes. It likes to wrap you in a web of crap and stamp on any plans you might have had.

That said, I’m here now. Look at me mum, I’m doing it! No hands!

Obviously lies because I’m not typing this with my face.

So, the book.

‘Ariadnis’ is nothing short of a masterpiece. The end.

Ha! No. But seriously. I haven’t been this excited for a good ol’ grit and grandiose fantasy series for so long.

Not since ‘Red Rising’. I wrote a damn poem about that book. Truth.

‘Ariadnis’, my friends, is on that same level. WHO KNOWS what I’ll do for this one, eh?

51kd6nnnn8l

Here’s the blurb:

Joomia and Aula are Chosen. They will never be normal. They can never be free.

On the last island on Erthe, Chosen Ones are destined to enter Ariadnis on the day they turn eighteen. There, they must undertake a mysterious and deadly challenge. For Joomia and Aula, this means competing against each other, to end the war that has seethed between their cities for nine generations.

As the day draws nearer, all thoughts are on the trial ahead. There’s no space for friendship. No time for love. However much the girls might crave them.

But how you prepare for a task you know nothing certain about? Nothing, except that you must win, at whatever cost, or lose everything.

What does it for me aside from everything? In particular it was Taurus and Aula. And the overall story, of course.

Taurus I am in love with. And I was so elated to find he had much more of a role to play in this narrative than I first thought. He’s strong and yet beautifully flawed. He somehow makes his weaknesses attributes. And I admire that.

Aula I feel most connected too. She does a great job of locking away her emotions. Bottles it up. Comes across as harsh, strong, callous maybe. And that slightly prickly exterior is how I have been described before.

giphy-1

Obviously, like Aula, I’m not a prickly person. It’s a front. And often a misunderstanding. She feels things too keenly perhaps and that turns to anger and frustration when left untapped. There is a particularly powerful moment in the book when she confronts her ex… And I LOVED that he had an issue with her being too strong because YES QWEEN you subvert those gender roles.

I really got a kick out of the lore as well and the way the plot got thicker and thicker surrounding it. Such a compelling concept to begin with. And then beautifully written.

I was enthralled. Read it in two sittings. I would urge anyone who loves damn good storytelling to give this a read. You won’t be disappointed.

*I received a review copy with SO MANY THANKS to @BooksWithBiteUK – Opinions are all my own and 100% honest though. 

‘Ariadnis’ came out on Feb 9th so what are you waiting for?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

