Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review and stuff: Following Ophelia by Sophia Bennett

Soz about the slang. It’s getting worse. I just don’t fight it anymore. It’s just part of me. Enjoy.

ANYWAY! I requested ‘Following Ophelia’ after my friend Sophie spotted it on NetGalley (and I know at this point you’re  probably think can this girl do anything without her friend Sophie’s suggestion? Short answer.. No.)

So I started reading ‘Following Ophelia’ a few days before the Stripes YA event in London. Since the author would be there, it made sense, right?

I read the remaining 70% on the way there and OH MY it made my 5 hour journey that much faster.

following_ophelia_200ppi_rgb

Da blurb:

When Mary Adams sees Millais’ depiction of the tragic Ophelia, a whole new world opens up for her. Mary sets out to become a Pre-Raphaelite muse, too, and reinvents herself as Persephone Lavelle. But as she fights her way to become the new face of London’s glittering art scene, ‘Persephone’ ends up mingling with some of the city’s more nefarious types and is forced to make some impossible choices. 
Will Persephone be forced to betray those she loves, and even the person she once was, if she is to achieve her dreams?

Mary is a fun character. She chafed me at first. I didn’t get her. I just thought her wilful nature would get her in trouble. Too much trouble.

Heck, I wasn’t wrong. But she gets into the best kinds of trouble and I began relishing each description of these pre-raphaelite luvvies.

The pomp. The flair. The excess. The detail. Nothing was missed and it made for such an enthralling read.

giphy

It’s a little bit of a strange book in that it refreshingly bucks the current trends for YA.

And by that I mean it’s got a beautifully classic feel to it… but in no way does that make it stuffy or inaccessible. Quite the opposite.

Things this book will make you do:

  • Fall in love with Felix
  • Long to have redinner hair
  • Have your heart break for Rupert
  • Have you heart break and then soar for Mary’s decision in the final scenes
  • Give you a whole new appreciation for Victorian art and decor
  • Make you want the next book ASAP

I want all my friends to read this book we can fangirl over it together.

Clever, insightful and so much fun! Highly recommended.

‘Following Ophelia’ will be out on March 9th by Little Tiger. *ARC received with thanks. Opinions all my own.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

