Posted in Chit Chat

New Year, New Me (barf) and the books that will get me there!

I literally hate the phrase “New Year, New Me”. I hate how it pops up on everyone’s timeline on every kind of social media account from mid-November through to February of the offending year. It makes me cringe. Especially when it’s coupled with the “this year is my year” status. DOUBLE VOM!

giphy-69

But I do like the theory and the practice of it. Forget the phrase, I love that feeling that January brings of hitting a big reset button and starting fresh. An annual do-over. It’s comforting as much as it is liberating. So yeah, new year. Yay! New me? Maybe. Prolly not. But I do have goals and wishes and ambitions for this year. It’s only natural I have a TBR to go with that.

Things new for 2017:

A TBR jar. Because I’ve seen these and they look cool and I’m HOPING it will push me to read the books that have been sat on my shelves for blummin’ years.

20161209_233354

An updated Spotify playlist. Because music is muy important to my productivitiy so I’ve made a brand new playlist on Spotify to get me vibing in the right way. Full of all kinds of tunes from Disney classics to Wiley and Metallica.

giphy-70

Books on a “must read” list for 2017. These are the reads that I hope will motivate, inspire or even challenge me in different ways. 2016 was ridiculously busy and I ended up running between two full time jobs, including night shift work, which left me with very little time or energy to do much else.

I LOVED ‘Eat. Pray. Love.’ despite also seeing its flaws, I was just so taken with both the writing and the experience of it so ‘Big Magic’ feels like it will be even better. ‘Gone With The Wind’ has been on my wish list for so long, and I haven’t seen the film purely because I want to read the book first. So I bought the book with my Christmas book vouchers and no I have no excuse not to get on with it. ‘Americanah’ I have held on a pedestal for too long, to the point that I’m afraid I will be disappointed when I read it. I adore Adichie; reading ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’ was a revelation for me so I cant’ imagine ‘Americanah’ not being the same.

These three books have been the apples in my eyes for an absolute AGE and all for different reasons. ‘The Merciless’ looks like and sounds like my kind of book through and through. It SOUNDS like the kind of stuff I write too. But again, I’m anxious that I won’t like it and that will be devastating! ‘Blackhearts’ is pirates. Ok, it’s technically not, but I’ve always had an obsession with pirates and the origins of, so this is a book I’m SO EXCITED to read. Finally, ‘Wolf By Wolf’ again feels like my kind of book, through and through. Plus I’ve only heard GREAT THINGS about it and I’m hoping some of that greatness rubs off on me too. Heh heh.

‘The Song of Achilles’ was recommended to me by Sophie (her blog is here) and I would trust a rec from her, always. ‘Outlaw’ was recommended to me by the chap that took over my job (I recently left doing night shift). As for ‘The Princess Diarist’, I’ve had this in my Amazon shopping cart for weeks! I was going to use my Christmas vouchers to get it… But ALAS! Her tragic passing has meant it’s sold out everywhere! But I will read this as soon as I can get my hands on a copy.

Other stuff:

Gotta get that manuscript finished. I already have two books that are finished and that I feel quite ok about but “ok” isn’t good enough for me. I need to feel “great” about a manuscript before I throw all my effort into getting an agent.

Call me crazy, but that’s just how I need to do it. So I’m continuing edits on “Flesh and Bones” while working a new project. It’s a dark, dark, story. Actually, that’s a lie. The story itself isn’t dark, but the imagery is.

I’m going to write more. In general. Sure, I’ll be doing plenty of writing working for Maximum Pop! but now I’m not running myself into the ground between jobs I want to use the time to get back into writing poetry and short stories too.

Keep on with my instagram! I’m obsessed with it. And sure, my aesthetic might not please everyone but it suits my general mood (dark and grumpy, HA!) – Please do feel free to hop over.

What are your reading/writing/life goals for 2017? Tell me in the comments!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Me (barf) and the books that will get me there!

  1. HAPPY NEW YEAR (slightly late to say but it doesn’t matter). I have always wanted to try the TBR jar, but every time I go to do it, a book I really want to read gets in the way. Oh well! Good luck in 2017!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Talk to me!

