Posted in Chit Chat, Fashionably Late Reviews :)

On finally reading The Hunger Games – What took me so long?!

Yep, I’m one of THOSE people. The ones that are a little bit embarrassed and often resort to being very non committal in conversations about the big fandoms… because we haven’t read them.

giphy-4

And not having read something as HUGE as The Hunger Games feels like it’s probably a crime in the world of YA. So first of I’m legitimately sorry it has taken me this long to read this book (oh yes, because I still have 2 books to go… I’m getting there, ok?) Secondly, I need to talk about Katniss, and Peeta, k?

I don’t know what I was expecting with The Hunger Games. I knew in my heart that I was going to like it. And I’ve actually owned the series now for nearly four years but for whatever reason it just hasn’t felt right.

Without getting too much into it, I am definitely wary of books that go massive before I’ve read them. Hype can be a serious turn off for me.

ANYWAY! I can’t say what made me finally pick up The Hunger Games the other evening, but it just felt right. It was time.

A quick overview: I’m a fan.

The longer story: I was surprised how much I identified with Katniss. She shields much of herself, especially her emotions, and often comes across as too harsh and sullen. She’s the Grumpy Cat of dystopia. And I loved her for it. How often as a teen (and tbf, as an adult) I was asked what was wrong, or told that I came off as prickly, and even cold…

giphy-6

I am neither of those things. Cynical, maybe. Sarcastic, definitely. Selective, damn right.

Suzanne Collins builds a world that is both beautifully simple and incredibly complex. I was taken aback by the way the story and the world building continued to become more and more intricate.

Clever, clever writing. And I can certainly see where more recent dystopians have taken a leaf out of this book, quite literally, because it has earned its place as canon in this genre. Without a doubt.

It was wonderfully refreshing that this group of teens, thrown together in an arena of survival, get hurt. And when they get hurt, they can’t just shrug it off. Katniss goes deaf in one ear, Peeta gets all kinds of effed up, and people die from injuries like they should. Right on.

It’s not all sunshine and roses though. Nuh uh. I will admit that I loved the heck out of this book. But the one person I struggled with? Peeta.

I just didn’t get him. And maybe that’s because we’re stuck inside Katniss’ perspective. If it were told from the third person, or a dual POV then maybe I would have understood him better. But as it is, I’m not a fan.

He’s unreliable and he pales compared to how other characters came alive for me. I think I just struggled with his motivations, and even though I enjoyed the duplicity of his character (or how you’re led to believe its duplicitous) it made me feel like I was left out of the loop with him. Does that make sense?

I didn’t feel anything from what are supposed to be sweeter moments between him and Katniss, and I was left feeling more annoyed than heartbroken at the end. Douchebag. HA!

It’s fair to say I’m growing into a Team Gale girl. WHO KNOWS?! The next book might totally flip my opinion. And please, no spoilers. I’ve managed to go, what, eight years, without really knowing anything other than the basics. Don’t ruin it for me now, friends!

Without giving anything away, do you think my opinion of Peeta will change as I continue with this series? Tell me in the comments!!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

3 thoughts on “On finally reading The Hunger Games – What took me so long?!

  1. I think your opinion of Peeta will change as the series progresses. To me, he’s one of those characters you appreciate in hindsight when you reflect back in the series. He’s such a background character to Katniss that I think he slips out of view. (I’m totally Team Peeta).

    I’m glad you read this! I think this is one of those series that people shy away from because of the hype but it’s one that actually deserve the hype if you ask me. But like you, if I hadn’t read it before it got huge, it would have taken me a long time to read it.

    1. I’m definitely interested to see how his character develops for sure. I also think Katniss is such a strong character it’s hard for others to stand out as strong, you know?

Talk to me!

