Posted in Chit Chat

‘The Call’ is hands down one of the best books of the year

It’s not often that a book completely grips me. I think it’s more to do with right place and right time, you know? Like, all the planets must be aligned or some crap. It’s a bit of careful choosing and a lot of luck. But I was kinda digging Peadar O’Guilin’s ‘The Call’ from the moment I heard about it.

giphy-5

In fact, I think I almost begged my friend Sophie for her proof copy. HA! I’m not beneath begging when I get a feeling about a book. 

Here’s a quick synopsis if you’re not familiar:

Imagine a world where you might disappear any minute, only to find yourself alone in a grey sickly land, with more horrors in it than you would ever wish to know about. And then you hear a horn and you know that whoever lives in this hell has got your scentand the hunt has already begun.

Could you survive the Call?

I couldn’t survive the Call. That’s for sure.

giphy-6

What did I think?

Characters – I thought that Nessa made for an interesting character. We knew she was going to have to be tougher and more robust both inside and out from the get go as her disability is described. There was a very realistic reaction among her classmates to this too. Some just ignored it, others treate her with a kind of disdain thinking she was a waste of space and time and food if she’s just going to die when she gets ‘Called’.

Sidhe – So this book makes such a wonderful use of Irish lore and legend that I hadn’t even heard of. The Sidhe are like badass, silvery, totally ruthless fae. I think? (Please do correct me if I’m wrong). And I found their portrayal, even though reasonable and logical, was utterly TERRIFYING!

Savage – Was the word I found myself thinking in some parts. The author DOES NOT HOLD BACK. It’s very much ‘Battle Royale’ for me in places and I loved that.

Pace, plot, etc – I FLEW through this book. I was utterly gripped. It’s just blummin’ good storytelling. I felt safe in the authors hands, in that the plot kept me on my toes, but I was secure in the knowledge that wherever this book took me it was going to be GOOD!

I would recommend this read to anyone into those slightly harsher dystopian stories. I’d also recommend it to anyone looking for a blinder of a book to get lost in.

This gets an easy 5 out of 5. Loved it. 

*Thanks to David Fickling Books for the proof copy! (even though it wasn’t sent to me… *sobs*)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “‘The Call’ is hands down one of the best books of the year

  1. Gosh, I gotta read this book. I’ve been searching for books with the same premise so if you take a look at my search engine, it is filled with tags like ‘books like the hunger games/battle royale’ and ‘books with people in murder games’ etc, (which is kinda creepy huh) this could be THE book I’m finding for

Talk to me!

