Posted in Chit Chat

the “Blogger Recognition Award” plus the usual chitter chatter

Well hot damn, I got myself tagged (“nominated” always feels too weird for me to say… look, I have my ticks, so do you. Let’s just leave it at that) by Grace @ quirkyandperculiar and I am SO BEHIND on these things that I thought I’d better start doing them.

giphy (51)

Also, because I don’t want people to think I don’t give a crumb for being nominated tagged. ‘Cause I do. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. *hugs*

The Rules

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

How did ‘Behind on Books’ begin?

Originally it wasn’t ‘Behind on Books’. It was ‘A Bit Behind on Books’. And before that it was something else but I cannot remember for the life of me what it was…

I just thought it could be fun to have a space online where I could talk about the things I really like. Books, sure, but at first it was everything from tattoos, to pumpkins, to my fave picks from certain clothing stores. And books.

But I lacked focus and that is a dangerous place for me to be in because nothing will get done, ever. And it makes me feel all BLEUGH! I need focus, a purpose, a set goal, to function like a normal human bean.

So! When I went back to university (second time lucky) I obviously started reading a lot more as I was studying English Lit. It was actually my minor, but STILL! Books. I was reading ’em.

giphy (52)

And I felt like I had all this surplus information and thoughts and opinions in my head that wasn’t going to get used in essays or assignments etc, I thought, why not put it on the blog?

NOW I mainly focus on YA books. But I didn’t used to. Not at all. And even though I still like to throw something different in the mix, I miss how broad of a reader I used to be. But that’s it. That’s how ‘Behind on Books’ was born.

What advice would I give to new bloggers?

Don’t take it too seriously. Seriously. Don’t. It can be far too easy to place pressure on yourself to post to a certain schedule, or to review a book immediately after reading, to get you hands on the hottest ARC. Just chill. And do it all at your own pace.

giphy (53)

Furthermore, don’t sweat it if you want to branch out into other stuff. Who cares if ‘books’ is in your blog title or tag line? You could start another blog, sure. (I’ve done that, so many times. It’s too much hard work. Don’t do it.) Or you can just write about what you want to write about. It’ll make you happier, and it will show when people read it. And THAT, my friends, is what makes some blogs an absolute pleasure to visit. Because you can tell that they have a passion for whatever they’re talking about.

Also, one quick piece of advice. Don’t lie. Sure, feel free to embellish the truth, and do not EVER feel like you have to tell anyone anything about your RL self (stay safe and stay comfortable). But don’t force an opinion that isn’t yours. It stinks. Of bullshit. And people will notice. Just be nice, and be honest.

I’m nominating (*gag*) the following blogs. If you’ve been tagged and you’ve already done this, then please do join in again BUT the first question will be changed to “What motivates you to keep blogging?”

And if you don’t already follow these lovely monsters, why the heck not? Check ’em out!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

