Posted in Chit Chat

Top Ten Tuesday: Books set outside of the US

This one is almost too easy for me being UK based. I read a lot of UKYA, so whereas I will be including some of my UKYA faves on this list, I’ll try and feature some quirkier settings too. Let’s go travelling!

giphy (49)

1. ‘And I Darken’ by Kiersten White. This book is my everything. And hey look! It’s set in Wallachia. Which, if you didn’t already know, became part of what is now known as Romania.

So not only do you get a book set outside of the US, it’s also historical! And it’s amazing. Like, 100.

If you’re interested, I reviewed it here.

2. ‘Ride’ by Lisa Glass. This series is very dear to my heart also.

Set primarily in Newquay, I LOVE the way the main character keeps coming back to her Cornish roots.

There’s a bit of jet-setting and surfing adventure to be had in other countries too. So this book gets double points on this list. Enjoy!

3. ‘Ink and Bone’ by Rachel Caine. This one involves a bit of travelling around too. But I adore the parts set in Alexandria.

I had my little niggles with this book, but I am still very excited to read book 2. It’s next on my ‘to buy’ list.

4. ‘The Extra’ by Kathryn Lasky. Heavy subject matter, but I really enjoyed this book. I think it’s an incredibly brave undertaking and overall there was the right balance between shock, horror and heart.

Set in Nazi occupied Europe, it takes an interesting POV of a girl plucked from the work camps to star in a film made by one of Hitler’s favourites.

Hard stuff. But worth a read. Very much so.

5. ‘Hello, I Love You’ by Katie M. Stout. I actually really liked this book. I only say that because there is a lot of people who did not. And we’ll just leave it at that.

Set in South Korea, I thought it was a wonderful kind of introduction to a culture I’ve never explored before.

It’s fun, and definitely one of those quick, afternoon reads when you don’t want to tax your brain too hard. Easy to sink into and had me itching to learn more about the setting!

6. ‘Sunkissed’ by Jenny McLachlan. Summer holiday in Sweden anyone?

I think this is my favourite of ‘The Ladybirds’ that I’ve read so far. The setting is perfect and will definitely give you some serious summer wanderlust.

7. ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ by Elizabeth Gilbert. I didn’t enjoy the book as much as the film. That said, I still loved the parts set in Bali. And the food in Italy.

But Bali is THE PLACE for me. I want to go there so bad.

8. ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ by Stephanie Perkins. You knew this would be on here right? Set in Paris, of course, this is one of the only books I will re-read. And since I can count how many books I would re-read on one hand, that means a lot!

I fell in love with Paris, with Anna, with Etienne, and with this book. Bon voyage!

9. ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ by Laini Taylor. This series has some great setting throughout, but you have to love its origins, right? Much like with ‘Anna’, this book had me head over heels in love with Prague. Gorgeously gothic and I want to visit ASAP!


Did any of these make your top ten? Please do link me to yours in the comments!

*As usual, TTT is brought to by The Broke and the Bookish.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books set outside of the US

  1. Love that GIF! ❤
    Eat, Pray, Love is such a fantastic read. I love how it takes you to three different places all in one memoir. I haven't seen the movie, but I really should!

  2. I recently read And I Darken and LOVED IT too! I thought it was super awesome, and the sense of setting/culture was very strong.

    And I’m one of those people who didn’t like Hello, I Love You, haha. I found that book really vapid and the characters annoying, but at the same time I can kind of understand why others like it. It reminds me of a k-drama.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

Talk to me!

