Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

‘The Outliers’ by Kimberly McCreight; things get real shifty, real fast!

Welp, the shizz soon hits the fan with this one, doesn’t it? It goes from ‘oh, ok’, to ‘holy snackajacks!’ in a matter of moments.

giphy (14)

I really wasn’t convinced at first, but boy oh boy…

Here’s a quick blurb for y’all to chew on:

It all starts with a text:
Please Wylie, I need your help.

Yep, that’s all you get. A good tease isn’t it?! You can see the full synopsis here.

What did I really love?

The pace – This book moves fast. And this is part of the reason that I kept reading it. One minute Wiley is worried about her friend, the next she’s fighting off creepo thugs in a diner bathroom corridor. And it’s like that the whole way through. Just bam, bam, bam.

Twisty little fecker – The plot is one slippery snake. You think you’ve got it sussed, but nope. You really haven’t. And I loved how it kept me guessing. I talked about this when I reviewed the book for Maximum Pop! (which can viewed right here) – it’s probably the cleverest aspect of this read. Fo sho.

Concept – What the heck is an ‘Outlier’? Well, you have to wait until you’ve read a good chunk of the book before you really find out, and even then you don’t get to know the full extent of what an ‘Outlier’ can do. I wish that there was, in fact, some more explaining, but you know, greedy-reader syndrome. Just keep giving more to chew on!

giphy (15)

What would I have done differently if it were me?

Wiley – I struggled to truly connect with her. I liked her enough, sure, but I thought that at times I wasn’t on the same wavelength with her. I think she made some decisions that were too impulsive for me to believe.

‘Bad guy stuff’ – I felt like this teetered on the edge of “evil mad scientist” in places, like it was almost doing the cliche, but somehow avoided it by the skin of its teeth.

All in all an incredibly readable book, and heck, that’s all us good bookworms want innit?

I gave it a 4 out of 5. The ending is a real cliffhanger.

(received from the publisher through MaximumPop! Thoughts and opinions all my own)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

