Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

‘Night Study’ by Maria V Snyder, and why you should read it

I mean, if you’re not already on this band wagon… WHY THE HELL NOT?

Everyone has their reasons, sure. Mine staple is usually as good as any; there are so many books in the world that I’m always going to be ‘behind’ on something.

But seriously dudes. This is one series you need to give a fair chance. It’s freakin’ timeless. My feelings for this series can be summed up thusly:

tumblr_o1kuqhEJia1v26feko1_1280

‘Night Study’ is the second book in the ‘Soulfinder’ series but it is also part of the large ‘Study’ series too.

As I touched upon in my post last week, I feel like this is book is setting up the bigger spectacle. It’s still got all the action and drama and sweeping fantasy that I love and cherish in this series, but I can’t shake the feeling that we’re being shown the breadcrumbs that lead towards CERTAIN DEATH!

Ok, no. But we’re definitely getting ready for the big hurrah in book three, right?

What is so lovely about ‘Night Study’ is how much you get to learn about Valek. This was so beautifully done that it actually made my heart ache a little. So sweet and so poignant, and slightly painful too. I suppose you could call it a ‘bittersweet’ moment for Valek, since he has lost so much.

But as he reasons with himself, look at what he wouldn’t have been able to have or do if he had never left home all those years ago. Yelena’s story would certainly be different without Valek, true?

Careful, compelling writing. Snyder does it again. A little piece of me is dying inside with every extra day I have to wait for the next book. *sobs*

Too dramatic?

Ah hell.

giphy (5)

(Received with thanks from the publisher. Thoughts and opinions all my own. MINE, YOU HEAR?!)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

One thought on “‘Night Study’ by Maria V Snyder, and why you should read it

Talk to me!

