Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: The Look by Sophia Bennett

Fashion. Fracture. Family.

Ted doesn’t think of herself as glamorous. But her gorgeous sister Ava is. So when it’s Ted who spotted by a model agency, at the same time that Ava is diagnosed with cancer, things have clearly gone very wrong. Ted isn’t interested in modelling but Ava wants her to give it a try. Just how far will Ted go to please her sister? And what sacrifices will she have to make?

So, this book’s pages are printed pink.

And that may or may not be the main reason I picked it up in the library.

I’m not entirely sure the packaging does this book justice, however. Sure you get a good idea from the cover and the blurb, but in reading it I was touched by how much heart and emotion that comes out of the story too.

Ted is tall.

This is an important factor in her being scouted for modelling, but it’s quite nice to have a main character with a feature like that. Girls in YA are so often short, petite, or ‘average’. I have a good friend who is considered very tall, and let me tell you, as a teenager the struggle was real.

For the most part I liked Ted as a character. I think she does some wacky things for the sake of her sister, but you know it’s eventually going to become something much more than just a bit of ‘fun’ and that there will be some serious sacrifices and consequences as a result.

Ted knows practically nothing about the fashion industry, and I thought this was quite endearing. It also allowed for a reader to learn alongside her. I already know a fair bit about the fashion industry because I have a strange obsession with documentaries and reality TV that focuses on it. Obsessed. For real. I wouldn’t want to be part of that world, but I do love looking at it and experiencing it from a distance.

The whole book trots along at a nice pace and I found myself reading, and reading, and reading. I was engrossed. It’s also nice that the narrative doesn’t focus on a romance. It’s a small part of it, but it’s not the main focus.

Ted has to make some difficult decisions and ultimately she succeeds in making the right choice, even if it’s a little after making the wrong one!

I found her sister to be a fascinating character. Watching through Ted how she self-destructs, both physically and emotionally, is heart breaking. Especially with the insecurities surrounding her (adorable and stalwart) boyfriend. It made my heart wrench watching it all fall apart. I mean, the girl has cancer! As if life hasn’t already thrown her the worst curve ball ever.

For me, the only bit that was a little disappointing was the end. I thought Ted’s newly found interest in photography was predictable in its subject, even though the motivation came from a real interesting place. I also got a bit lost during her Art classes at school, and also during some of her research. The book takes the time to explain important figures in the fashion industry but then I felt like I was having artists and photographers thrown at me like I should already know about them. Eeks!

Finally, the ending, although it was a relief to find the whole family in a good place, I thought it was a little twee. I think it could have ended a few pages earlier, but it was a nice finish.

Concept – 4/5

Plot – 3.5/5

Ending or Twist – 3/5

Character(s) 4/5

Overall – 4/5

*(borrowed from my local library. Opinions borrowed from no one)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Look by Sophia Bennett

  1. Hey, Sarah! I’d never heard of this book before, so I’m I saw your review on Twitter. It sounds really interesting, and I love photography. I think it’ll be interesting to explore Ted’s relationship with her sister in this situation.

    I gues it’s true that most books don’t bring up the struggle of being a tall teenage girl, but I feel that they could do so much more with the short girls too. Short girls (like me) don’t get to walk around enjoying their “cute” size. In sports and in professional situations (I.e. applying for internships/approaching business professionals), we are ignored or looked down upon because people can’t get past the preconceived idea that we’re just “little girls” who have no idea what we’re doing.

    Thanks for stopping by The Unprinted Protagonist!

    1. That’s true too- short girls are almost always penned as ‘cute’ and without any obstacles (physically). I really enjoyed how the sister relationship was explored, so yeah, I hope you enjoy the book if you get around to reading it one day 😀

Talk to me!

