Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Emotional. Page-turning.

Can the best thing happen at the worst time?

Her dad went crazy. Her mom left town. She has bills to pay and a little sister to look after. Now is not the time for level-headed seventeen-year-old Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother.

I requested this from NetGalley on a whim. I just felt like something different that I hadn’t heard of. So when I was approved I just got stuck right in.

It’s an easy read, I’ll give it that. It’s one of those books that you can pick up and get absorbed by it right away. It’s one of those ‘safe’ books, you know? The writing is ok, and I liked the main protagonist. I did find her voice a little jarring in places; some of the things she says were odd, and I found myself trying to imagine if a girl her age would say something like that, but then on the flipside, there were moments where she said things that felt like she was trying too hard to be a ‘hip teen’.

The relationship she has with her little sister is lovely. I thought that was well explored, and that part of the storyline was what held my attention the most.

I liked how feelings grew between her and Digby, even though he already had a girlfriend. And gosh, she needed to get more mad. I would be livid if I were her. Elaine is far too forgiving. I wasn’t buying Digby’s ‘good guy’ persona, either. I think this was hit on so often that it got boring. It’s ok for the dude to be a bit flawed, and to own it. He’s hitting on his sister’s best friend, after all.

In the end, I knew where those two would end up, but I found myself wishing it was less sure, less clean cut. Like, it was so suddenly ‘on’ that I found myself feeling really bad for Elaine and how quickly she was forgotten.

It’s an emotional read, and I think those elements are captured well. I’m not sure I was won over by the painting thing, it seemed like an odd add-on, but it was a inoffensive. Just something I noticed that clanged for me.

I did like, however, how her best friend had all these quotes and would recite them. That was a cool quirk.

I read this book quite quickly and I enjoyed it quite a lot. The writing is a little clumsy in places and some of the plot points err on the side of ‘twee’, but it’s a nice read.

Concept – 4/5

Plot – 3/5

Ending or Twist – 3/5

Character(s) 3.5/5

Overall – 3.5/5

(Received as an e-copy from NetGalley. Opinions are all my own. Released in December/January. This particular edition expected January 14th 2016 by Orchard Books)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

