Posted in Chit Chat

The Best YA of 2015

I know I did a recent Top Ten Tuesday with a similar schtick. But I saw this in the Huffington Post and I thought it was an interesting way to look at the ‘best of’. Rather than categorising it by simply ‘my favourites’, it’s by genre/category.

So I had a look over the 2015 books I read and I give you a different list, from a different angle with (mostly) different books. Hurrah!

Best Fantasy

I really wanted to put Shadow Study here… but I’m not sure it can be truthfully called YA. It actually hasn’t been a Fantasy heavy reading year for me, which makes a change. That said, I think there is only one book that can take the top spot.

20151218_161112

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – I had some mixed feelings and thoughts about this book, but it wasn’t enough to deter me. I can’t wait for the sequel and looking back I enjoyed the heck out of this story. And it was jam packed full of quotable moments. (February 2015, Orion)


Most Beautifully Written

20150926_181928

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby – Yes, mama. This book is an absolute masterpiece. Beautifully strange. Written in such a way that it makes me envious, but more than that, it leaves me mouth -open in awe. (March 2015, Balzer + Bray)


 

Most Interesting World

This is a really tough choice because I did read some good dystopian and fantasy worlds this year. (Unfortunately couldn’t find my print copy of my chosen book!)

17985564-2

Soulprint by Megan Miranda – Such an interesting concept. I wish that there was MORE exploration of the world this story is set in… but definitely interesting. I also love this author. (February 2015, Bloomsbury Children’s)


Best Science Fiction

I’m calling it YA. It is. It is. It is.

20151218_164625

Golden Son by Pierce Brown – Oh my days. The best book I’ve read in a long time. This series is AMAZEBALLS. A quick note; my copy was a proof copy, hence there’s minimal cover art. (January 2015, Hodder and Stoughton)


Best Sequel

I have to agree with the Huff on this one. (I have a physical copy, but it’s signed.. so I’m keeping it safe…Β my precioussssss)

23276983.jpg

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski – This is one sequel that played. A keen character and plot development and it leaves you wanting more. It’s sheer brilliance. (March 2015, Bloomsbury Children’s)


 

Best Contemporary

20150930_123624

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen – The Queen of Contemporary, no? This is my favourite from her so far. A solid read. (May 2015, Penguin)


Favourite Character

20151129_131815

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – Y’all might have read my mixed review of this book, but one thing is for sure; Baz rocked my world. (October 2015, Macmillan Children’s)


 

Best Debut Novel

20150929_170022

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle – If you gonna have a debut book, you better come out swinging, eh? And my oh my this book packs a punch. I loved it. Cannot wait to read more from this author. (August 2015, Corgi Children’s)


 

Most Unique

20151004_221356

Daughters unto Devils by Amy Lukavics – Because this is one dark little sucker. A creepy, kooky read and I was hooked. I think it’s unique in how much balls it has. A bold write and a crackin’ read. (October 2015, Simon & Schuster)


 

Best Overall

I took many factors into consideration here. The characters, the story, the writing, and of course, the enjoyment factor. It was a difficult decision, but I think I made the right one.

24283688

Renegade by Kerry Wilkinson – The wonderful sequel to Reckoning, I loved this book so so so SO much. It ticks all the boxes for me. *nods* (May 2015, Pan Macmillan)


 

Do you agree with my choices? Which books would you pick?

*Click on the title links to see my reviews.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

8 thoughts on “The Best YA of 2015

  1. Ahhh theres so many good books here, where do I begin? I’m currently reading Red Queen and I’m hooked into it. I’ve been seeing that Glass Sword is even better, so I’m super excited for that. The Winner’s Crime was one of my favorites as well! I really can’t wait to read The Winner’s Kiss. Sarah Dessen is always my favorite, and her books have a special place in my heart. I’m actually going to buy the Red Rising trilogy soon because Im going to a book signing. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it, and I’m really thinking of bumping it up to the top of my TBR. Looks like you read a lot of good books this year!

    1. I’m sorry… hold up. *breathes slowly, keeps calm* you’re going… to a book signing? As in, Pierce Brown will sign your books? 😲

      That is AMAZING!!!!!!

      Thank you for stopping by just like you said!! πŸ˜€

      1. Haha yup. I’ll try to post on twitter when I’m going so you can watch out for the post πŸ™‚ and No problem, happy to spread the love through comments πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

