Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – ‘new to me’ authors I read in 2015

This was a difficult list to make because when I looked at what I had read this year, many of the authors were new to me!

Here goes.

A summery theme for these first three.

Sunkissed rocked my actual socks.. and gave me such a strong case of wanderlust. The writing hit all the right notes too; it was cute, cringey, heart brakey, and just so much fun. I can’t wait to read the others in this series.

Remix was a real hoot. I loved the honest edge Non Pratt’s writing has, it’s just the right amount of real, mixed with a little bit of fantasy (because I think everyone has those fantasy moments in their life anyway). The relationships were written perfectly and I’m now a Non Pratt fangirl.

And then there’s Lisa Glass… damn that woman is trying to kill me with this series. So many feels. I came across these books at just the right time and place, methinks, which made me love them even more. The story has so much heart and character.. and surfing, man! What more do you need? I’m totally stoked for the release of Ride next year.

And now for a darker turn…

Killer Instinct shocked me, and that’s no easy thing to do. It’s difficult to show me something that I’m not comfortable with… But this book? I’m still not sure how I feel about it, not really. That said, I have to applaud the writing. It’s brave and it’s bold and one heck of a story! I will be reading the next in the series, for sure.

Aww, The Accident Season was so many things. It was a fairly short read, but I enjoyed it so very much. Moira Fowley-Doyle writes with an elegance and finesse that is enviable! Some really lovely touches to this quirky, kooky story.

And I finally read a Derek Landy book!! I’m actually glad I started with Demon Road. It was a riot! So much fun. I’m sold on his writing; I’ll be reading more from him for sure.

Juvie was such a surprise. I picked it up on a whim and totally fell in love with it. I’d not even heard of the author before (soz..) but I’m a fan now, for sure. One of my favourite reads from the year, actually.

Ahhh! Vendetta! I am so excited to read Inferno next year. I actually won a sneak peek at the first chapter (signed by the author too) at YALC… but I couldn’t bring myself to open it. I don’t want to ruin the surprise when I finally get my hands on the book itself. Addictive writing.

So I’m late to jump on the Kody Keplinger band wagon, but people, please believe me when I say I’m all aboard now. Full steam ahead. I loved The DUFF, and I got to read LOL too. Similar to what I thought of Doyle’s Vendetta, addictive storytelling.

So, chosing this last one wasn’t easy. There are so many I could add to this list… But Blood and Salt is still lingering with me long after reading it. It was just right up my street and I am really looking forward to Kim Liggett’s next works.

Some honourable mentions:

What about you? Who did you read for the first time this year?

*(TTT brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – ‘new to me’ authors I read in 2015

  1. I haven’t read any of these authors, but I’ve heard good things about The Accident Season and Demon Road–I’ll have to check those out!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Spellbound!

  2. Thank you for sharing your list! I haven’t read any of the authors you mention, but not for lack of wanting to. The Accident Season is one I’ve had my eye on. And I am curious about Blood and Salt.

    1. Thanks!

      I only found Juvie by accident at my local library. The Accident Season is a real cracker. I’d love to hear what you think of it when you do read it. So tweet me? 😀

  3. I like how it sounds Hello I Love You, and I would like to read it, it on my TBR list. Thanks for sharing

    Silvy @https://silvybooksaremylife.wordpress.com/2015/12/08/1748/

    1. You can’t like everything, eh? That’s what I keep telling myself as I read Carry On… (I’m really trying with that book.. I WANT to like it so so bad.. I want to love it..)
      Killer Instinct however.. that book is so edgy. I think it is, at least. I hope you get to give it a go soon 🙂

      1. Carry On ended up being enjoyable for me, but I definitely didn’t LOVE it. Have you gotten through the first section of it yet? Once Baz shows up it got so much better for me, but it took like 100 pages to get there.

      2. Actually, you’re not the first person to say that to me! So I’m carrying on with Carry On because I have faith that Baz is going to save the whole book xD

  4. Hehe I also really enjoyed Sunkissed. The beginning was a bit rough but it definitely ended strongly. I thought the character development was amazing! The Accident Season and Demon Road are books that I own and I can’t wait to read them. I know I’m really going to love the magical realism aspects of The Accident Season. I’m not completely sold on Demon Road but I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Also I really need to get my hands on Bone Gap! I’ve heard so many great things and I can’t wait to see what it’s all about.

    1. Bone Gap is a real gem of a book. A one off. It’s not often a book that lyrical and strange and beautiful and compelling comes along!

      Yeah, I agree withe you on Sunkissed. I think once it gets going it’s fab. Especially when you meet other characters like Nana. 🙂

  5. Ooh, I loved Bone Gap; Laura Ruby has such a distinct style of prose. And I’ve heard such good things about The Accident Season that I will have to pick it up for myself soon! This is such a great list 🙂

  6. I’ve seen SO MANY mentions in the last six months and on these lists of the The Accident Season. I think Moira Fowley-Doyle gave many people the gift of awesome reading in 2015! It’s probably about time it went on the TBR.

Talk to me!

