Posted in Chit Chat

Try hard, but don’t be a ‘tryhard’

According to the urban dictionary, a tryhard is defined as follows:

A person who puts a large amount of effort into achieving a certain image, or counter-image, to the point where it is obviously contrived. Rather than achieving an image through genuine personality, the try-hard consciously attempts to fit a certain style through deliberate imitation, forced style, or scripted behavior. That is to say, he/she is trying hard to create an image.

So I’ve heard/seen the term thrown around in the world of gaming, and it’s often misused. But I think I’ve seen more examples of it during #NaNoWriMo than in any other month or event.

You can usually spot a tryhard in your twitter feed from a mile away. It’s that person that overthinks a reply to a simple writing question… just so they sound profound or hip rather than simply using their natural personalities… which I’m sure are just as profound and hip if given a chance to broadcast.

The thing is, it’s annoying. A tryhard is annoying. End of. They cause eyerolls, cringes, exasperated sighs, nausea…

All I’m asking is that you (not necessarily YOU, but the wider population of tryhards) just relax into your own skin. There’s no need to force this image of being a philosophically savvy, well-read, professional freelance poet writer person. Stop. Just be you.

For sure, I’ve stretched the truth, or skirted around it. But sometimes saying this:

Watching AHS on Netflix in a onesie that I haven’t washed for approx three weeks while eating breakfast cereal out of the box.

Is a bit of an overshare. No one wants that image in their head.

Loving AHS. Binge watching ftw. #cantstop

Same thing, less skeev. (Although, if I’m being honest, I would probably tweet the first one, because I’m fusty and proud).

But I’m not going to overthink it and input something completely bonkers like:

The cinematography in AHS is the only reason I’m watching it. Inspiring moments of humanity at its most extreme. #motivational

giphy

I’m probably just grumbling over nothing. Maybe no one else has noticed all the tryhards. But I still think a sound piece of advice is to just remember:

You are at your most beautiful and compelling when you allow your true self to speak for you.

How else can you write at your best, if you’re not showing your best? Relax. Be cool. Try hard in everything you do, but don’t be a tryhard.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

