Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

Funny. Rude. Honest.

So I was damn sure I had posted a review of this book. I was wrong! And hey look, since I don’t own a copy and since I’m dirt poor at the moment, I don’t have a physical copy to take a picture! If I get chance I’ll try and track it down at the library again, but if not… soz! *edit* hey look! It was in the city library! Woo!

Sam and Hannah only have the holidays to find ‘The One’. Their lobster. But instead of being epic, their summer is looking awkward. They must navigate social misunderstandings, the plotting of well-meaning friends, and their own fears of being virgins for ever to find happiness. But fate is at work to bring them together. And in the end, it all boils down to love.

There’s nothing particularly ‘new’ about the set-up, at the core this is a classic ‘coming of age’ or ‘maturing’ story, but everything about it was so fresh and so much fun!

What I enjoyed the most about this book was the voice. It’s proper #UKYA, using the kind of language you would expect British teens to appropriate. And did I mention it’s fun? Some parts are literal ‘laugh out loud’ moments. But where the authors have you laughing in one breath, they have you squirming and cringing and heart-breaking in the next.

It’s real YA, understanding of, and empathetic to, it’s primary intended audience. If I was still of that age (excuses self to sob and blow nose loudly into a handkerchief, lamenting the old wicked crone I have become) I know I would have identified, painfully, with these characters.

I think I enjoyed Hannah’s POV more than Sam’s, but then that was probably going to be the case, right?

There were some parts with the lads that reminded me of The Inbetweeners, and whereas I thought those moments often led to hilarity, it also felt too close a comparison for me.

That said, I loved how witty and how unabashed the writing was from both POVs. These characters, both main and secondary, are so well rounded and I liked that each protagonist had more than one friend they hung out with, you know? I mean, you might have you ‘main’ friend, your BFF, but there’s often a small group of you that will hang out and do stuff. I think this element can be absent in some YA books without due cause.

It’s rude. It’s fun. It takes on some themes and common moments from teen life and it isn’t afraid to show it in frank honesty. And it’s just a damn good read. Think BBC3’s ‘sun, sex and suspicious’ parents. Heh heh.

Concept – 3/5

Plot – 3/5

Ending or Twist – 4/5

Character(s) 5/5

Overall – 4/5

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

