Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Reminiscent. Strong premise.

 I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

With a cover like that how could I not want to read this book? Look at it. LOOK AT IT!

I think the concept is really great. I was ready for some full on fantasy-court action and adventure (and romance? Maybe? There’s always a possibility).

What I thought was particularly well woven were the relationships between characters and the history between them. Twylla has some hang-ups because of the past, and it’s justified too. She’s plagued (ha! no pun intended) by what she has done and what she is still to do and I connected with that aspect of her character.

The story itself is compelling enough, and I enjoyed how things unfolded- I think at one point I was like ‘CULT! WE’VE GOT A CREEPY RELIGIOUS CULT PEOPLE!’ *claxon* I’m not really giving anything away here either because until you get to that point in the book it’s not wholly obvious. And it’s not exactly how I describe it. Soz, you’re just gonna have to read it… or DM me!

I think what I found a little jarring was that it is called ‘The Sin Eater’s Daughter’ but it doesn’t really relate to the journey Twylla goes on. I was excited by the title because I thought it would have something to do with Twylla’s destiny, or something. I was enamoured with Twylla’s background- her relationship and history with her mother grabbed me and I was expecting that aspect to play more of a role somehow.

I used the word ‘reminiscent’ because I could see glimmers of other fantasy titles within this one. And sure, this happens a lot within the fantasy genre- it’s natural. But I wrote this list down as I was reading: ‘Shadow and Bone, The Winner’s Curse, Poison Study‘ – so basically, if you like those then you’ll probably like this too! Win!

There’s definitely some mirroring of history too, at least I felt like there was.

I think The Sin Eater’s Daughter is a grand book, but ultimately something didn’t quite click for me. I am still looking forward to reading book two and I would urge anyone that usually enjoys this genre to read this book!

…that cover though. *swoons*

Concept – 5/5

Plot – 3/5

Ending or Twist – 3/5

Character(s) 3/5

Overall – 3/5

(Borrowed from my local library. Opinions borrowed from no one.)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

  1. Great review! I also read this post a couple of weeks ago and I felt the same way you did. I was a bit disappointed with the disconnection between the title and the story itself. I think I was expecting a different type of novel compared to what it actually is.

Talk to me!

