Posted in Chit Chat

Pinterest is for Pantsers

Are you a pantser? Me too.

Are you wondering what a ‘pantser’ is?

“Very little in the way of planning has been made. This novel will be brought to life with a blindfold on. It is to ‘fly by the seat of one’s pants’.

I don’t like to plan much. Usually I have strong ideas about character(s) and certain scenes. I’ll know what the tone and the general focus will be, but other than that it’s a complete surprise until I write it.

I have a very visual mind. I will see my book in pictures and ready-imagined scenes (that I will often play on repeat in my head); snippets of conversation will float around in my brain juice until ready to be put onto the page.

I have found that using visual cues are the most useful for me. Since I rarely write much down in the way of plot or narrative arc before I’ve got a whole draft, having something pictorial to focus on will often trigger certain details I might have forgotten.

This is where Pinterest comes in. I’ll start making a mood board of things that match the atmosphere I think I’m trying to capture. Some stuff will be completely bonkers, but it can be simply the feeling a picture will give me that is important to remember.

You can see some of the things I’ve been thinking about, visually, for my NaNoWriMo project on my board titled ‘feelers’. I know it’s a weird title, but at the time I wasn’t sure if my initial idea had any legs, so I was just putting my ‘feelers’ out there to test the water.

It’s never too late to procrastinate on Pinterest. Go on, be free and fiddle around with hundreds of photos, it’ll make you feel productive- I can promise you that.

emesalvatore (22)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

6 thoughts on “Pinterest is for Pantsers

      1. Me too, but you just have to write through it I guess. At the start I was beating the daily word count with ease, but it’s getting a little but difficult especially adding studies, blogging and well reading. I am enjoying putting down words on a page though.

      2. Me too 🙂

        And you’re right, the beginning is easy… but the further you get into it you have to start trying to remember what you’ve already written and also keep up with everything in RL too! #writerproblems eh?

  1. This whole idea is so true and useful! Only for myself instead of using pictures I use music. I always make an extensive playlist for all my projects and can draw inspiration for what could happen from lyrics and general feel. 🙂

Talk to me!

