Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

Tender. Twisted triangle.

“Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer–99 days–with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.”

I was drawn to the concept of this book. It literally spans 99 days, and those days are documented. Some days have significantly less words than others, and I felt like this reflected life pretty darn well. I have days where there’s hardly anything worth reporting, and then others that I could write whole books about!

Because of the nature of the structure, I was worried that there wouldn’t be enough pace, or that it would drag, but the author got the balance right. And a lot can happen in 99 days, that’s for sure!

I don’t think it’s much of a spoiler to say LOVE TRIANGLE ALERT. I don’t really have an opinion either way on love triangles, I think as long as they are well written and rationally explored then it’s fine. I thought it was interesting here to experience Molly’s reactions towards the brothers. I felt like I was watching a girl become a woman, in some respects.

“Why are you going to let people who are hell-bent on not forgiving you keep you from something that could actually be great?”

However, sometimes I did feel like shouting at the pages. Let’s face it, Molly should have stuck with Gabe. And sure, we’ve all made weird decisions based on weirder feelings and urges. But I just wanted to shake her. Patrick was a douche.

I found the ending a little frustrating- I felt like the brothers were given an excuse for their behaviour rather than just owning it, if that makes sense? But I think the story leaves Molly in a  healthier place both mentally and physically which was a relief, and overall I really enjoyed reading 99 Days. It was a easy to sink into and the characters were well formed.

99 Days, for me, explores so keenly that time in your life when old friends really become old friends, and when you’re on that cusp of a ‘new chapter’.

Concept – 4/5

Plot – 3.5/5

Ending or Twist – 3/5

Character(s) 4/5

Overall – 3.5/5

(borrowed from my local library. Opinions borrowed from no one.)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

3 thoughts on “Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

      1. It is one good read. 😊 Her books has this unique aspect that draws the reader’s attention. I haven’t read this book though but probably I’ll read it soon. The plot really sounds interesting given the fact that it happened for 99 days. 😄

Talk to me!

