Posted in Chit Chat

“2, 10, 11. Eyes, fingers, toes.”

Every day is Halloween for me.

But I love that we get once a year to really focus on the gothic and the macabre.

I mean, yes, there’s a wealth of myth and history that goes along with it and the roots of the day are often obscured and twisted.

But somehow, I don’t mind.

Part of the wonder that is October 31st is the films that are put on the tellybox. Personally I can watch these films all year around, but Halloween is a great excuse to binge on them.

Nothing, and I mean nothing, captures the real essence of this day than The Addams Family. It’s darkly funny, quick witted, gothic, flamboyant and with a set and wardrobe to die for.

I wonder if part of the allure for me is that the Addams’ truly accept themselves as themselves. They don’t try to be something they are not and encourage their children to explore their own identity while still surrounding them with a (twisted) love and full support.

I won’t deny the strong influence The Addams Family has had on me both personally and creatively.

Happy Halloween you crazy little zombinis. You do you.

Anyone wanna mamushka?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

