Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Quirky. Creepy. Compelling.

“It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.”

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

‘Tis the season! I adore the concept of this book. The idea that something can evolve from an idea, to a myth, to something that literally governs your life.. it’s both fascinating and terrifying!

I thought the whole story had this really cool tone. The main characters are obviously living a strange life, ruled by superstition, but I also felt like they were acting like normal teenagers too. (pah! what’s ‘normal’, eh?)

My favourite part of this book was slowly discovering how much of a psychological hold, rather than supernatural, the ‘accident season’ had. There are still elements of ‘spook’ that aren’t explained, and I really liked that. It could have been easily brushed off as completely psychological, but something is left up in the air for interpretation. I dig that.

This book is reminicent of Louisa Reid’s Lies Like Love, in that it tackles the darker manifestations of the mind, and yet there is significantly more light in The Accident Season.

Ooh, can we say ‘forbidden love’? I mean, it’s not. Not really. But as a reader I could totally appreciate the reluctance and hesitation (and possibly ‘expected’ revulsion?) as their feelings grew harder to ignore.

There are some beautifully written scenes in this book. I think I could even be tempted to use the phrase ‘magical realism’ (I’m still not completely sure how I feel about that term).

A relatively short read- I finished this book on the train to and from YALC back in July.

20150719_203448

 I had an e-copy so I bought a physical copy while I was there so I could get it signed. Woop, woop!

Also, I must showcase the GORGEOUS promo table the publisher put on for this book at YALC:

20150717_135712 (1)

*melts*

The promo stuff captures the essence of the book wonderfully. The red button is significant, as are the tarot cards and the masks and the secrets booth. It all combines inside the story to make one impressive little book.

Concept – 5/5

Plot – 3.5/5

Ending or Twist – 4/5

Character(s) 4/5

Overall – 4/5

(Bought with money. My money. Review written with opinions. My opinions.)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Talk to me!

