Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Demon Road by Derek Landy

Fun. Fast. Fresh.

I saw the promo stuff for this book at YALC and I was pretty psyched for it. On the surface this book fits me better than a tailor-made rubber gimp suit.

And look at that cover! SHINY! I’m so easy… put some foil on the front and I’m sold. I think they did a great job with the cover though. After reading it I could look back at the cover art and think ‘yes, that captures it very well’.

This is the first time I’ve read anything by Landy. I’ve always admired the Skulduggery Pleasant covers, but I don’t know, I’ve just never felt the pull towards reading them. So going into Demon Road I had no expectations at all.

I wasn’t disappointed. (phwoar look at that trailer!!!!)

The books starts on such an enticing hook that I would defy anyone not to keep reading. The ‘lore’ is cleverly introduced and I liked the spin this puts on ‘making a deal with the devil’. Yeah, that old chesnut, but I did feel like this was a fresh imagining.

I wasn’t entirely sold on the protagonist though. And that sounds bonkers, considering this is person you’re supposed to experience the whole book through. Amber was a well rounded character, I think, but there was something that stopped me from connecting to her on some level. I still haven’t figured it out.

The cast of secondary characters, however, is this books saving grace. Milo and his car… Reminiscent of Ghost Rider, sure, but he’s so cool. I think I fell in love with him.

And I needed that little i of lust because there is no romantic element to Amber’s story here. This is not a bad thing, at all. It is why I keep describing this book as ‘fresh’. A real love interest would have detracted from the action/adventure element of the book. Demon Road is like a Buffy the Vampire Slayer episode with the teen broken-heart drama removed.

That’s not to say Amber’s character doesn’t have the potential for a romantic interlude.. I honestly thin she’s better off dealing with her shit without that nonsense getting in the way too.

“If you can’t stand to be alone with your thoughts, maybe there’s something wrong with your thoughts.”

I also use the word ‘fast’ to describe this book. I did not choose this word lightly because there are moments where the plot loses some of its urgency. In fact, at one point I was starting to worry that the whole set up at the beginning was more of a push to get Amber on the road, than an actual valid plot point.

Thank chuff I was proved wrong! Any grumblings I may have had about this book were squashed by the ending. It gets turned all the way up to eleven and it rocks out in a badass kind of way.

This book isn’t perfect but it’s so much fun, and the writing is what I like to call ‘solid’. You can trust the author to take you on a grammatically sound adventure, one that doesn’t let pronouns and repetitions leak out of its margins. Cliches don’t get a look in and I didn’t feel lost or confused at any point. As a reader I felt very safe. This is solid writing- I feel now like I could pick up any book by Landy and experience a good ol’ time.

I can haz seekwul nao plz? Kthxbai.

Concept – 4/5

Plot – 3.5/5

Ending or Twist – 5/5

Character(s) 4/5

Overall – 4/5

(copy received from Maximum Pop! Books. My opinion is honest and my own. You can see my mini review on their site, here.)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

5 thoughts on “Review: Demon Road by Derek Landy

  1. This sounds like a fun read. Reading your review was like talking to myself – I am a sucker for a shiny cover! And I HAVE read one of the Skulduggery Pleasant books, and liked it, I’ve never picked up another. But this concept sounds right up my alley – great review, thanks!

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I’m not sure this will be everyone’s cup of tea, but it was definitely mine.

      If you do end up reading it, let me know what you think! 🙂

Talk to me!

