Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Breathtaking. Beautiful. Brilliant.

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps—gaps to trip you up, gaps to slide through so you can disappear forever. So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. After all, it wasn’t the first time that someone had slipped away and left Finn and Sean O’Sullivan on their own. Just a few years before, their mother had high-tailed it to Oregon for a brand new guy, a brand new life. That’s just how things go, the people said. Who are you going to blame?

This book came into my life after seeing it recommended by Laini Taylor on Twitter.

I mean, if that’s not a sign then nothing is. It was a sign of brilliant things. A good omen.

This wasn’t a straightforward read for me, however. I started reading it as soon as the postman dropped it off back in May. But I was still studying towards my MA and, if I’m honest, I wasn’t have the best time at work. My reading sloooowed.

The thing about Bone Gap is that it is indescribably beautiful. The writing, that is. It’s the kind of writing that makes you despair at your own, and yet keep you gripped and begging for more.

I’m often wary of the snippets of praise they sometimes slap on books… But in the case of Bone Gap, each one is a whole truth.

Where do I even start? The prose itself is gorgeous. I’m a country girl so there was so much of this book that I could relate to on that level. The landscape, the environment, the way nature itself permeates the narrative… I fell in love with the writing from the first page.

That said, I wouldn’t call this book an ‘easy’ read. There are some books that you can read without much effort, and other books don’t test your emotions. Bone Gap, however, is almost painfully overwhelming and as much as it offers a quiet reflective quality, it can also be loud and clear… And I felt it all.

“Funny how you notice how beautiful things are just when you’re about to leave them.”

The characters- each one so very tangible. Our main source of narrative comes from Finn and Roza and they are both compelling in different ways. Roza because of her situation and Finn because of his perspective of the world around him. My heart broke for Finn and it ached for Roza. And for Sean, and for Petey, and the goat, the horse the bees…

I enjoyed the mystery the plot brought as it unfolded. I mean, there was enough to keep you guessing, but not too much that you had it prematurely pegged.

There is magic in this book, and mostly it’s the bewitching narrative style. But this becomes more literal towards the end… And yet… And yet… It was like a clever slight of hand where you didn’t notice the trick happening and then before you know it you’ve slipped into another universe. And it really is that clever. If you were that way inclined, I think you could easily rationalise it as some kind of grand analogy or metaphor.

Or you can call it as you see it, and it still holds up as a fantastic piece of fiction.

“this was a magical place…the bones of the world were looser here, double-jointed, twisting back on themselves, leaving spaces one could slip into and hide.”

This book is special. It’s the kind of story that happens into your life and changes it in some way. Bone Gap is beautiful, and you have to read it. But only when you’re ready; this book deserves your full attention.

Concept – 5/5

Plot – 5/5

Ending or Twist – 5/5

Character(s) 5/5

Overall – 5/5 +++

(Bought with my own hard earned cash, my friends. Opinions are also my own.)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

8 thoughts on “Review: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

    1. Ha ha! I know what that’s like. I have more books on my ‘to read’ list than I have ticked off as ‘read’ list. There are simply too many books and not enough hours!!

Talk to me!

