Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

21943246

Borrowed from the library. Simon & Schuster, 2014

I really liked the look of this book and I kept my eye on it around pub day. But I started to notice some rather unsavory and unimpressed reviews and so it ended up being pushed a little further down my TBR list.

I was in a different library to my local when I spotted this and having my hands on it, I couldn’t NOT take it home with me. Shoved it in the scanner and escaped with that sucker!

Brit Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants;but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

I liked the mystery and intrigue Fitzpatrick sets up from the beginning. I’ll admit now, so we don’t come to any sort of awkward impasse later, Britt and her friend are a pair of the most annoying characters to have ever graced the pages of a YA. She made me want to hit myself with it, and it was the hardback version too.

I’m not being completely fair because I thought that Britt showed some real grit and determination in places, and I appreciate how she grew as person by the end. But it doesn’t forgive her ‘horror story female’ modus operandi. Sometimes when someone says ‘stay here’, you should listen to them. It’s probably going to work out better for you.

Foo. Ok, that’s out of my system now.

I loved how the small details made a big difference to the tone and overall plot of the story.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

I tweeted about this book as I was reading it because I had it figured out about 60% in. I was like ‘yep, I’ve got your number book, you can’t fool me.’ And I was right! I’m not going to spoil it for those of you who haven’t read it, but even if you do figure it out before the end, I found it didn’t take away from the reading pleasure any.

But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

Friend or foe, indeed! *waggles eyebrows*

Mason was probably the best character in the book. Even when I had the twist sorted in my head, I still couldn’t properly figure him out, and I really dug that.

Huh, one thing though. This is YA, right? For me it was walking a fine line between YA and NA.

Concept – 3/5

Plot – 4/5

Ending or Twist – 4/5

Character(s) 3/5

Overall – 3.5/5

It was very readable. I mean, even when I wanted to just leave Britt in a hole somewhere, she had ‘something’ that kept me with her. (I’m fickle, I know). I loved the setting and pace of the book, it just lacked that certain sparkle I look for in a story.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Review: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. I really enjoyed this book. I love this kind of thing. Great review. I too got really annoyed with the two best friends, they acted more like enemies. If you like this, you will probably like Forbidden Territory by Melissa Pearl. It’s a brilliant read. Along the same lines but not so much annoying fighting between friends.

  2. LOL for the most part I think i felt the same way when I read this–although I found the romance a bit strange in their situation O.O Agree about the whole YA/NA line tho lol. FABULOUS REVIEW ❤

Talk to me!

