Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books to read in a day

topten

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s a ‘free’ week this week, so I dug into the TTT archives and saw this one. This looked like fun.. but then I had to trawl through my Goodreads shelves and try and remember how long it took me to read each book!

Well, here it is; books to read in a day (as long as you literally do nothing else. Just read. In bed. A book and duvet day. Yup.)

1. The Hit List – Set in an arts college I loved the environment and the drama it bred. Dancing, high school theatrics, romance. An easy page turner.

2. Along for the Ride – Sarah Dessen is so easy to read. I find myself finishing her books in a day, or in two night sittings. Sweet, smooth narratives.

3. Ugly Love – I was hooked into the emotion of this book. I could have finished it in a day (if I’d had the day to spare!)

4. Slammed – Noticing a pattern here? I’m so easy when it comes to a dash of romance. Putty in the author’s hands (especially Hoover’s). I read Slammed on a single train journey. I enjoyed the building tension and the movement of the story.

5. Be With Me – Similarly, I’m a sucker for a J Lynn title. You’re guaranteed to be taken on an emotional rollercoaster, but it’s so worth it.

6. Just One Day – I loved the concept of this book and the ‘travel’ aspect makes it so compelling. And yup, there’s the romance.

7. Fracture – One of the only books that isn’t ‘romancey’ on this list! LOL! Sorry about that… We’re going a little sinister for this one. Still has the romance aspect but much more focus on the action. Tres cool. It’s not a very long book, so reading it in a day is attainable.

8. The Geography of You and Me – Such a sweet book! Light and airy, it has the ‘travel’ element I mentioned above which keeps me locked in. The key to keeping me involved; a holiday romance! HA!

9. Anna and the French Kiss – This is in here because it has all the elements I love in a book (apparently). Romance, an ‘exotic’ setting, THE FEELS and just such quick witted and intelligent writing. LOVE this book. Could happily lose day reading this book.

1087204

 

10. Ouran High School Host Club – Gotta squeeze some manga in here! Manga is always perfect for a quick, entertaining read. And this series is so much fun.

What would you recommend me?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to read in a day

  1. Awesome topic! Usually it takes me at least two days to finish a book, although I did finish Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling in nearly just one day. John Green’s books also go very quickly for me both because they’re generally short and I love them so much.

    1. Thanks! I usually take a good couple of days to finish a book as well. But sometimes everything aligns, or something, and you can just blitz through a book in a day. Magic!

  2. It was so hard to put Ugly Love down. Like you, Colleen Hoover’s books suck me in and I want to dedicate my entire day to reading her works!

    This topic reminds me that I need to spend a day in bed reading in the near future haha
    The Hit List sounds like my type of book so thanks for bringing it to my attention 😉

    1. You’re welcome! I hope you like it if/when you read it.

      And yuh-huh, there is something worryingly addictive about a Hoover book.. :s

      Heh heh.

  3. Romance is just a must in every book, let’s be honest here 😉
    Everything about Anna and the French Kiss is perfection. Easily read it in a few hours, it was just so good. I’ve seen the Ouran High School anime but apparently it isn’t as good as the manga… either way HONEY SENPAI!!
    The Geography of You and Me sounds really good… will have to add it to my ever expanding to read list!

    1. I tend to agree.. A good flutter of a romance is what usually keeps me on board with a book. 😀

Talk to me!

