Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Soulprint by Megan Miranda

17985564Soulprint by Megan Miranda (February 2015) bought with my Christmas book tokens 🙂

“Alina Chase has spent her entire life in confinement. With the science of soul-printing now a reality, she is ‘protected’ for her own safety – and the safety of others – because her soul has done terrible things …or so she’s told. When Alina finally breaks out of prison, helped by a group of people with unclear motives, she begins to uncover clues left by her past life that only she can decipher. And she may not be as innocent as she once believed. Can Alina change her future, or is she fated to repeat her past and face the consequences?”

I’m a big fan of Megan Miranda. I’ve read both Fracture and Vengeance, and I LOVED Hysteria. So I had high hopes for this book.

What did I like?

The concept – A really interesting idea. Your soul is reborn, or redistributed, into another body when you die. You can even leave your possessions and assets to your soul if you have no family. It’s a cool idea. And I liked how to stakes were raised by then having the potential to know if your soul used to belong to a criminal. This book raises some compelling arguments about humanity and morality.

Dom – His character was very exciting. He’s not the nicest character, but he’s so much fun to read. He’s like pulling out a gun in a crowded room. And I’m not ashamed to admit it that I found him charming.

Pace – The story has wicked good pace. It trips along at a fast lick and that made it easy to just keep reading and reading and reading.

What didn’t work for me?

Alina – I just didn’t feel anything for her, not for a long while at least. It took me a time to get a handle on her, to really empathise and I think, by then, it was too late. I liked her. I just didn’t connect with her.

Dom – Not the character, but the fact that he’s scrubbed from the plot too soon.. and his reappearance feels opportunistic.. or maybe more a happy coincidence. He had so much potential, I’d have liked to have seen him play on the whole June/Liam thing more.

June/Liam – As mentioned above, this aspect was breezed over when I felt like it was mightily important.

Preach! – Hoo. I felt like I was being talked at a lot. There was a lot of questions surrounding humanity and morality, the law, knowledge, power.. and fair play for including such heavy themes.. but I felt it could have been included in the narrative better rather than recapped by the characters or explored in a block of text. You know?

Two books – I felt like this could easily have been two books. And if it had been two books I think it would have allowed more breathing space for the world to be explored better. It all felt so rushed and packed in and maybe that’s why I didn’t really feel for Alina in the way I wanted to. The plot was a bit of a let down at the end too.. all that fight and then it fizzles. Like a firework that never sets off.

__

I was a little disappointed, to be honest. The concept was great and the writing itself was good, but I overall the book felt rushed and I think that certain plot points could have been explored better. I did enjoy the read; Miranda’s writing style really clicks with me and the story itself had great pace.

Basically, I think it should have taken its time. Compelling, but not amazing. I gave it a solid 3 out of 5. 

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

