Posted in Chit Chat

Meeting Maria V Snyder at MIRA Ink (PART TWO)

Here we go. The part you actually wanted to read. But in case you missed it, here’s part one.

Floating somewhere between really tired and really excited, the adrenaline and the nerves.. I was overwhelmed to say the least.

I’ve never attended an event like this before and so I had no idea what to expect.

We were taken to the room where it was all happening and.. oh my gosh. She was there. Right there.

I totally seized.

It’s strange, isn’t it? This is the person who has written stories that have literally taken over a part of your life. Stories that have changed you, somehow, or made you look at something differently. Stories that have made your heart beat faster, your heart seize, stop, burst. Toe curling. Stomach clenching. The woman who created your first book boyfriend. The woman who, with the power of her words, took you to a different world and held you there. Time and time again.

How the heck are you supposed to act cool? If you know the answer to this, then pray tell. Because I tried, and I failed.

I loved how relaxed the whole evening was. We chatted with Maria and with each other whilst having (forced) food and drink. HA! I was far to wired to eat or drink anything and it wasn’t until someone physically put a cup in my hand that I managed to sip some orange juice.

Maria spoke to us about everything and anything. We talked about her cat, Valek, whom she got on Velentine’s Day one year.. but who will only respond to ‘kitty’. Now imagine Valek in the books, doing that too. Ha ha!

I met (and clung to) Amy, a fellow blogger and writer:

IMG_20150326_163205

And I was asking her if she had seen the US cover for Shadow Study. I was saying how I liked it because it was more like the older covers for Poison Study, but it was a bit too ‘dressy’. Later, Maria herself was saying how those older Poison Study covers has a truer representation of Yelena. ‘This is Yelena’ she said, holding a copy of it.

And I have to agree. It is. It totally is. (I put a picture of that particular cover in Part One).

MIRA Ink had prepared a goody bag for us. It was like freakin’ Christmas! It included a copy of Shadow Study which Maria then signed for us.

IMG_20150325_224423

I love that she tries to personalise her signings a little. It does make you feel special.

Here’s the thing. I had a question for Maria. I was prepped…

But I lost my bottle.

I know. I suck.

It was a geeky MA student question too, about the choice to use both first and third person in Shadow Study. But only because someone had told me to never do this because it doesn’t work. Well, bud, I was gonna prove them wrong.

I had a long journey home, so I didn’t stay until the end. I left with Maddie and Bee who kindly took my picture next to the WALL O’ BOOKS on the way out.

20150325_211737

20150325_215725I was determined not to look in my goody bag until I got back to Paddington. My train wasn’t until 23:45, so I had some time to kill.

There was some real cute things inside (I cracked. I was on the tube. And I cracked)

– Three books (including Shadow Study)
– An easter egg (yum!)
– A note book
– Purple nail varnish
– Promo postcard

I LOVE SWAG! Ha ha.

 

 

 

 

 

 

20150325_225648

IMG-20150325-WA0013

I arrived back at Paddington and got myself some foods before boarding the sleeper train. The dork in me loved that the engine had ‘Pendennis Castle’ on it. A proper cornish choo choo!

I didn’t have a cabin, just a seat. And I was all settled in… And then we had to get off. The dead man’s lever wasn’t working so they had to switch the front with the back.. or something.

This took AGES!

I don’t want to bore you, but I spent a long time staring at a table in the First Class Lounge (yep, they let us run riot in there as compensation.. and I helped myself to the pop) and once we were eventually on our way, I had seriously had enough. When I finally got back to my house (after driving from the station with bleary eyes and  a can of Relentless) the birds were tweeting and the sun was coming up.

Tired. Achey. But would I do it all over again? HELL YES! It was a great experience and an absolute dream to meet Maria and visit the MIRA Ink offices! So much fun. I got to meet some really cool blogger peeps too.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

6 thoughts on “Meeting Maria V Snyder at MIRA Ink (PART TWO)

  1. I like our photos 🙂 Must have been a nightmare journey for you, at least the train people looked after you though! Hopefully we’ll get to have more exciting blogger/book adventures in future!

Talk to me!

