Posted in Chit Chat

Meeting Maria V Snyder at Mira Ink (PART ONE)

A Bit of Back Story

It’s one of those moments that I never imagined would happen.

So for this post at least, indulge me, let me back track a bit:

Poison Study was the book that I picked up on a whim. I liked the cover (yep, covers count for a lot in this house) and the blurb was interesting.

I hadn’t really been reading much, at all, and I hadn’t bought many books, at all. But this one spoke to me.

And it spoke good. I started reading it and just KNEW it was going to be the perfect ‘book-to-reader’ match.

1192363 (1)

Yelena Zaltana is on kick ass heroine. She’s not perfect, but that’s what makes her so. You know? And I’m gonna make a confession here: Valek was my first, and only, book boyfriend! I’ve had some other characters in other books come close.. but none have had the same effect Valek had, and still does!

Needless to say, I have since gobbled up every other book Maria Snyder has written. I’m still one book away from finishing the ‘Healer’ series, and then I’ll be all caught up! Fo sho! (I’m kinda savouring it… Stretching out the anticipation! HA!)

How Come You Were In London?

NAqPJF8S

 

I know, I know. This country bumpkin got an invite from Mira Ink and got her sorry little Devon self on a train.

Maria is currently touring her newest title Shadow Study in the UK.

See now, I thought Yelena and Valek’s story was finished. But we, the stalwart obsessive psycho fans, kept asking for more, and the love of her, she delivered!

Shadow Study picks up after the Glass series has finished, with cameos and special mentions of other beloved characters including Kade and Opal et al. Janco even gets his own POV, which is pretty boss. Click here to read my review of Shadow Study.

The Journey

Hang on, hang on. I’ll get to the bits I know you REALLY came to read in a minute.

I was totally psyched about the trip. I was reading at an event the night before and got in quite late, but I was still awake long before my alarm went off. I was too excited!

After a mad dash to the supermarket with my dad, I set off in my car. It takes roughly 45 minutes to drive to the station… and then I had a meltdown.

I’m not one that gets ruffled easily. But after driving around the station’s THREE car parks and finding no spaces, I was starting to lose my cool. In fact, I was on the phone to my dad, wound up like a coil, cursing the train company, the car park, the poor car owners. The pigeons. No one was safe from my ire.

My dad tried directing me to a car park just up the road, but like hell could I find it.

Luckily, as I pulled back into the station, I spotted someone leaving. PHEW!

17985564

The train – 3 hours. No delays. In fact, it arrived at Paddington a little earlier than planned… because it forgot to stop at Slough. Ooops! Also, I nearly finished the book I was reading (see pic) and decided to stop, worried I’d have nothing to read later.

The tube – I could have got a connecting train from Reading to Richmond but there wasn’t one that left late enough for me to get home, so Paddington and the Underground it was. I LOVE the Underground. I keep waiting for the novelty to wear off, but it doesn’t. I think it’s because I drive EVERYWHERE at home, I have to. So just hopping on and off a train is great! And ticket scanners… So much fun! (It’s the little things in life, eh?)

Mira Ink offices – I’d not been to Richmond before, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Thank goodness there was a McDonalds.. not to eat.. but for the loo! I couldn’t find the loo in Paddington station (I have since.. duh. So obvious!) and I was desperate!

Mira Ink itself was easy to find. I spied a couple of lost looking bloggers while I was quickly phoning home, to say I got there ok. I feel a bit bad for not calling out.. but then, if you guys weren’t bloggers.. you’d think I was crazy. Soz. Xx

Oh man, the office itself. THE OFFICE! I’ve never been inside a publisher’s office so I was excited on a whole new level..

20150325_211730

 

So, I’d arrived. I had my name badge. I was smiling like the awkward dork that I am at the other people (trying not to make it obvious as I squint at their name badges because I am TERRIBLE with names).

And then the lovely Cara takes us upstairs…

To be continued, because I’m gonna need a whole post to talk about how wonderful Maria was, and all the blogger peebles I met.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

9 thoughts on “Meeting Maria V Snyder at Mira Ink (PART ONE)

    1. Thanks! I figured this kind of thing ain’t gonna happen to a country bumpkin like me too often.. so I’m milking it for everything it’s got!! xD

Talk to me!

