Posted in Chit Chat

Which book would you give to someone new to YA?

So someone in my class at uni asked me which YA book I would recommend them. And, since they haven’t read any YA before to pick a title that would encapsulate YA.

A book that signifies everything that is everything about YA.

Pick a favourite.

Pick something I feel is the epitome of YAL.

 

Holy hell. Ladies, gentlemen, cats and dogs. How does one even begin to answer that?

It got me thinking about YA though (never a bad thing) and it has made me appreciate just how BIG it is. I mean, we all say ‘YA’ like it’s a genre, when really, it’s just a target age group.

That said, I think it is its own genre, with its own conventions and expectations.

I don’t think I CAN pick just one. That’s the problem. There are so many different styles and nuances and themes, you can’t simply hold one book up and say ‘THIS! THIS IS WHAT YA IS!’

If, however, I were to create a ‘pathway’ of reads, this is how it might look:

info1

I mean, in no way is it representative of all the wonders YA fiction has to offer. I just went with what books I enjoyed and which I would pass along to a friend, for one reason or another. So working through this chart you’d end up having read 4 books with lots more to go on to read if you chose to.

Which books would you recommend to someone new to YA?

 

 

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Which book would you give to someone new to YA?

  1. Oh my goodness! I love that chart. I’m even going to use it. Thank you so much!!! I also end up recommending SJ Maas’ Throne of Glass series. Those are for epic fantasy fans but its always on the top of my reco list. Its just so good. Then I always fall back on John Green and Cassandra Clare. I know that ANYONE will love their books. Thank for the discussion post

    1. You’re welcome!

      I haven’t read the Throne of Glass series yet so I didn’t feel like I could put it on my chart.

      Thanks for stopping by!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Talk to me!

