Posted in Chit Chat

The Gift Guide Tag

I saw this over at It’s All About Books and it looked like fun! Originally started at Crazy for YA as a Christmas thing.. but there’s never a bad time of year to gift a book!

The rules are:

1) Pick at least one book/series for each category

2) Tag at least 3 bloggers

3) Add your link to the original post

So let’s get gifting! Here’s what I’d wrap up for you, if you were:

the Contemporary lover: 

Fangirl: It’s a safe, wholesome bet. I think this book makes the perfect gift for the ‘dabbler’, the kind of reader that dips in and out but isn’t so sure about what to read or if they even like YA. You can’t go wrong with Rowell, you know?

Anna and the French Kiss: Because Etienne. That’s why. A sweet, addictive kind of read that I think is a must read for any Contemporary fan. It’s a freakin’ staple!

I feel like both of these look pretty too, like they might make people smile just seeing them when tearing open the paper. 🙂

the Fantasy lover:

17926775 (1)

Stolen Songbird:

This book totally blind sided me. It started off a little shaky but then it slammed into me from nowhere and I was hooked! I can’t help but feel excited looking at the cover now. It takes a lot of very traditional fantasy elements, fairy tale elements, I suppose, and makes it fresh. Love it. And I want others to love it too.

 

 

10194157 (1)Shadow and Bone:

It was so hard to choose just two for this category, but this is partly why I have limited myself, because in this category alone I could list dozens! Leigh Bardugo’s writing style is beautiful and memorable. This book is so YES and I’d gift it to anyone, but especially Fantasy fans.

the Romance lover:

Isla and the Happily Ever After: So I had ‘Anna’ in Contemporary; I think there’s a kind of blurred line between Contemporary and Romance. I know it doesn’t always have to be that way, but my favourite Contemporary books usually have a romantic element to them. ANYWAY. I picked Isla because I think the romance develops in a much more achy-breaky way than in Anna. It’s a bit messy. It’s beautiful. It’s fun.

Just One Day: This book has such a compelling concept. I think any Romance fan needs this book, even if it’s to incite some wanderlust! My favourite Forman book so far.

the Mystery/Thriller Lover:

So much love for these. I’d give two copies of each, just so they could pass a copy on to someone else!

What do you reckon? Would you be happy to receive these as a gift? I TAG YOU! xD

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

3 thoughts on “The Gift Guide Tag

  1. Rowell is definitely a good choice for contemporary, although I have to admit I haven’t read Fangirl just yet… Shadow & Bone is one of my all time fantasy series favorite; I agree it was hard to only name two books for that category. I’ve just added the two titles you mentioned in the mystery/thriller genre to my TBR. 🙂

    1. Wicked!

      Fangirl is the only Rowell book I’ve read so far.. I’ve got some catching up to do there!

      Ahhh, Shadow and Bone.. I get excited just thinking about it! It was so good!!

      1. I’ve only read Eleanor & Park myself, but I have most of her other titles on my wishlist… A lot of people seem to love all her books so I will probably get a copy of most at some point!
        Shadow And Bone was SO good; I need to read the rest of the series ASAP.

Talk to me!

