Posted in Chit Chat

January has been a busy month!

Well hell, I haven’t really done one of these kinds of posts in a while, and that makes me feel bad.

The thing is, I have so many reviews and book posts I need to catch up on, there’s hardly any room for anything else! I’ve had some books I requested in NetGalley, and then read a while ago, but for one reason or another, I didn’t get around to reviewing them. And that’s not fair on the publisher.

I recently read a post by Ashley over at Nose Graze about whether or not we, as book bloggers, have an obligation to follow through on reviewing books we receive. 

I do agree that if we have requested a book (physical or electronic) then yeah, we kinda do have an obligation to do what we said we’d do. And that’s give an honest review.

Sure, if you were GIVEN an ARC or a book for review rather than asking for it, then I think you have more of a choice.

So I’m trying my best to catch up on all the reviews I should have done by now, but haven’t. A spring clean, if you will. A clearing of the conscience! Because hell, I feel bad when I log into my NetGalley account and my bookbridgr, and see so many titles waiting for feedback.. Soz. Seriously. Soz.

So that’s what I’ve been doing through January and will continue to do through February. It will cause a bit of a clog when it comes to other content, but it’s a sacrifice I’m willing to, and need to, make.

Basically, I need to sort my damn life out!

Aside from blogging I’ve had a busy January. I handed in my first portfolios for my MA at the beginning of the month, so that was a relief to get that gone. I also started my new modules (Non Fiction and Novel) which I can tell are going to be meaty. A lot of work to do there.

And then there’s the 105 challenge! I worked out that I needed to read around 8 books a month and so I went hard in January. Nothing like starting as you mean to go on!

I really pushed the boat out, reading 14 books in January:

105 1

Around the blogosphere:

Tara @ The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say Shh… Celebrates four years of epic blogging! She was one of the first bloggers I followed and quickly became one of my ‘go to’ blogs when I wanted to read some wicked content.

Holly @ The Fox’s Hideaway answers some questions about her writing. I really like the look of this meme and I’m mightily tempted to jump in on that! 😀

Stephanie @ Stephanie’s Book Reviews tackles a similar problem I’ve had with reviews, consolidating into one post some of those books that, for whatever reason, you didn’t review fully after reading. I like her style 🙂

Did y’all have a good January? What’s on for Feb?

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

9 thoughts on “January has been a busy month!

    1. You’re welcome!

      Yeah, I had a few days where I couldn’t keep my head out of a book.. I’m sure that’s trying to tell me something, psychologically, about running away.. LOLS!

      I know I’m gonna have a couple slow months when work starts piling on, so I’m trying to get ahead of the game. And hell, I never need an excuse to read a book! xD

      Thanks for dropping in! I know these aren’t your favourite kinds of post 😉 (nope. thou shalt never live it down) hurr hurr. Xx

  1. Congrats on reading so many books in January! And I agree, I think that once we ask for ARCs we do have an obligation to follow through with reviewing them. This reminds me that I have a few I should probably get around to soon… great post! 🙂

    1. For sure! And I have tons I need to read.. and even more waiting for me to review them! But I get so easily distracted by the ‘next’ book, you know?

      Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  2. Hey! I nominate you for the versatile blogger award! The post should be up on my blog soon 🙂

    I only read one books this month :/ the struggle is real

    1. Oh! Thank you! 😀

      Ah, well we all go through reading slumps. I went through a horrible (nightmare-ish) phase of not reading anything at all.. and it lasted MONTHS! A real horror story. Lols.

      Thank you for taking the time to read and reply. x

Talk to me!

