Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Meridian by Josin L McQuein

17798031

 

Meridian by Josin L. McQuein (2014) borrowed from my local library.

“Marina thought that she had solved all of the Arclight’s mysteries. She had found her own history—that she was one of the Fade, that she never should have been human. She knows that the Fade who surround the Arclight don’t want to be the humans’ enemies at all. She knows that the leader of those inside the Arc, Honoria Whit, never told the whole truth. But there is so much more that Marina is just discovering. There are more survivors out there. Only Marina—and her friends, all of whom have connections to the Fade they’d never known about—can lead her people to them. But there are also darker dangers, things that even the Fade fear. And Marina slowly realizes she may never have been “cured,” after all.”

 

So, I don’t think actually get round to writing a review for the first book Arclight. I think this was partly to do with how neutral I felt towards it. It was good. I liked it. But I felt like there was a piece missing.

Well hello! Book number two trumps number one by a long shot! For me, this ticked all the boxes I wished the first book did. And maybe that’s part of the problem with an SF dystopian type series. You have a job setting up the world and the characters before really getting into the nitty gritty of the plot, you know?

There’s a weird kind of love triangle afoot here, that I’m not sure I like. This might be because I LOVE Rue. His character is so compelling.. and then Tobin is just… Well, let’s just say Tobin, for me, is the epitome of angry teenage boy. He’s moody, sulky, hot-headed and did I mention sulky? Sure, he’s got his reasons, but I found the parts told from his POV to be tougher to get on with than when we were with Marina. There is part of me that feels for him… But then there’s Rue.. *wistful sigh*

I was really interested to see different sides to characters in this book. I thinking of Honoria in particular.

So much more makes sense about the world they live in with this book. In book one I was often confused or felt left in the dark (ha! pun intended!) but not with Meridian.

That said, I did feel like this book was 50 pages too long. Hm. Towards the end there was a lot of waffle about what to do next when the next move was freakin’ obvious. You gotta get yer butts outta there!! And then they do…

I’m intrigued as to how Marina and Cherish may reconcile in the next book (because there HAS to be a third. HAS TO!) and I really hope poor Tobin is cut loose by Marina. I also really want Rue to accept Marina as a Marina/Cherish combo, at least. If there’s no book three? Well.. What an odd place to leave it!

A very happy 4 out of 5. I enjoyed this installment a lot!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Review: Meridian by Josin L McQuein

Talk to me!

