Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Stay With Me by J Lynn

20763023Stay With Me by J Lynn (2014) bought for Xmas 🙂

At 21, Calla hasn’t done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought shed left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from they moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn’t give them her mom.

This is going to be one of those fangirly posts. I’m warning you now.

I LOVED this book. I’m not sure it topped book #2 in the series, but it was definitely on par.

Calla is a great character, I’m so glad so got her own book! She’s got a quirky way of talking and I love the phrases and little things she injects into her dialogue. I also love her strength. She’s not easily made to swoon into agreeing to do something (‘go home’, ‘leave town’, ‘stay here’.. even if it might have done her good to listen, she knows her own mind and acts accordingly) And then Jax comes along. And blows her life plan out of the water!

Katie is another character that I immediately warmed to. She’s hilarious. I don’t want to elaborate too much because if and when you read this book, you want the moment I’m thinking of to be a surprise. It makes me chuckle thinking about it now.

Jax. God. Jax. What more can I say? This guy TOPS the Hot Guy Brigade. Forget Cam, forget Jase. This guy is king.

A soft and sweet, sexy and steamy read. I loved it. I stayed up late reading it and was nearly late for work just so I could finish it.

I love that even though Calla has a lot of ‘firsts’ in this book, it’s not cliche or cringey. I loved the patience JAx showed and also, on the flipside, his very real limit when it came to what he could tolerate. I think it’s important to remember that people are people. Everyone has a tipping point.

There are some small niggles; there were some clunky sentences, some repeated words, and I felt like the ending was dragged out (much like in Wait For You). But I always feel like I can forgive Armentrout any and all of this because of how emotionally involved I’m made to be. I’m so invested in the characters, so swept away by the story, I couldn’t care less about the some slightly wonky syntactical things.

I’m still reeling. I need a rest, or a cleansing shower, or to get rip roaring drunk or something.. just to feel like I can begin to let this story go. I was so sad for it to end.. 😦

An easy 5 out of 5. This made me heart ache, and swell.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

