Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Crane by Stacey Rourke

21911337

 

Crane by Stacey Rourke (received with thanks from NetGalley)

That cover art is something special. Am I right? Gorgeous!

This book ended up a bit middle of the road for me. Going from such a strong start, and believe me, it’s STRONG. I love the character we’re presented with and I was totally up for following him through the story further. He’s an Ass, with a capital ‘A’, and he made me feel a little uncomfortable. And I love that.

Unfortunately, he doesn’t really figure in the story at all, really. This made me sad.

I also found that with such a sparkling, exciting start, the narrative suddenly dropped off. This is told with a dual perspective. Ichabod? He was sensational. I loved the sections that belonged to him. Ireland Crane, however? Meh.

I just felt nothing for her. She was a wishy-washy character, for me, in that I couldn’t get a real feel for her, and I didn’t have much empathy. This might be a case of ‘it’s not you, it’s me’, so if you really liked Ireland’s character, please do feel free to defend her in the comments below. I think it might have had something to do with her attitude, or how she was trying to act like she had attitude. I dunno. Just wasn’t feeling it.

You gotta love a re-telling of something like Sleepy Hollow. That’s an exciting concept for me because I LOVE Sleepy Hollow. (Even though Ichabod will forever look like Johnny Depp in my head).

Naoh. Didn’t like him. There was something ‘off’ about him from the start and I wasn’t feeling the ‘feels’ there at all.

And Brantley? (is that right? I forgot.. lols!) I felt like his presence was a bit redundant. I didn’t see what his appearance really did for the plot overall.

The writing is good. I mean, I was ready to full-on gush after that opening scene. Pow! A killer few pages right there. And in general, I found the writing to be easy to follow with some real nice touches. There’s no doubt here that Rourke can really write! *clicks*

In the end I gave this book 3 stars. I liked it enough, but I just don’t think it was a good fit for me.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Review: Crane by Stacey Rourke

  1. I gave this book 3 stars as well. Ireland was indeed MEH to read about but the other POV F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S. Well, exciting. I had off feelings for Noah too!! Yeah, this was a disappoitment though there is potential for book 2 to be better 🙂 Nice review!

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I see that potential for sure. I was just willing this book to ask ‘how high?’ when I I told it to jump.. but it just looked at me like I was crazy (which, judging by this analogy,I probably am)

      Hm. I should stop internetting at night! Haa! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. This cover is definitely gorgeous! It really captured my attention. I’m not sure if I’ll read the book though. I feel like I would have the same problems with it you did, and I’d rather just read books I hope I’ll like.

    I enjoy reading your reviews. They help me decide if I would enjoy a certain book or not, and it’s always fun when you fangirl over books too. 🙂

    1. Ha ha! I’m such a mess when I’m fangirling over a book.. I literally have no control over myself. Or my words…

      But thanks! It’s nice to know I’m not scaring people away! xD

Talk to me!

