Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Quickies: Love Hurts ed. Malorie Blackman

23454354

Love Hurts ed. Malorie Blackman (Expected January 29th 2015, Corgi Children’s) received with thanks from NetGalley

Malorie Blackman brings together the best teen writers of today in a stunningly romantic collection about love against the odds. Featuring short stories and extracts about modern star-crossed lovers from stars such as Gayle Forman, Markus Zusak and Patrick Ness, and with a brand-new story from Malorie Blackman herself, Love Hurts looks at every kind of relationship, from first kiss to final heartbreak.

I liked the read well enough, but I don’t think this book makes it clear from the blurb/cover that it’s mostly made up of excerpts from other books. This wouldn’t matter, but most of which I’ve already read. And even though I like the concept of this collection, I’m not sure it’s completely fair to its readership.

The original stories that are present are cute, poignant, and well placed. The one by Susie Day is my favourite, I think. And the story by Blackman herself is pretty good too.

It was a nice read, and even though I’d read most of the books where the excerpts were taken from, I didn’t mind revisiting them. I mean, it’s GREAT writing. But just… I’ve been there. Done that. You know?

This would make a fantastic gift for someone that was new to YA or doesn’t normally read the authors included because it’s a great ‘try before you by’ test drive! 🙂

I gave it 3 out of 5 because I really enjoyed the original content but was left feeling disappointed that so much previously published material was included.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Quickies: Love Hurts ed. Malorie Blackman

  1. Ooh, that’s a bit of a naughty move. If it’s a collection of previously published work they should make that clear because like you say, big YA readers will have read it all!

    1. Precisely. It confused me, like maybe I’d missed something somewhere. I still wonder if it was just my eyes being dumb.. But alas.

Talk to me!