Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

16031379

 

Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover – Borrowed from my local library

“Layken and Will have managed to overcome the obstacles that threatened to destroy their love, proving that they are destined for one another. What they are about to learn, however, is that the things that have brought them together may be the very things that ruin their connection forever…
Layken is left second-guessing the relationship whilst Will is jumping over hurdles to prove his love for her. What the young lovers discover about themselves along this journey may change their entire world and the lives of those who depend upon them the most.”

I’m starting think that Hoover’s writing style might not be a perfect ‘fit’ for me. That said, that woman knows how to keep the story wheels turning! Man alive those were some hefty plot twists and turns eh?

So, what worked for me?

Wil – I warmed up to his character much more in this book. Partly because it’s from his POV, but also because he seemed less.. creepy? No. ‘Creepy’ isn’t the right word. I dunno. There was just something that didn’t quite click for me in the last book, but it was all systems go in this one.

Whoa – The ending to this book is a real car wreck 😉 And for once, that’s a good thing. As a reader I was like ‘whoa! No way!’

Age – I was more comfortable with this book’s age. That sounds weird, but ‘Slammed’ felt like it was dancing in a weird limbo between YA and NA and I wasn’t sure which way it would be better off heading in. But I suppose these characters are only going to get older, so NA is definitely the better option.

The jar – This was a beautiful addition. A little sentimental. But a lovely idea.

Sex – I like how this is handled. I think it manages to balance both sides of it; on the one hand it’s a really big deal, but on the other hand, it doesn’t have to be all that a relationship hinges on. But man, the anticipation was killing me!

___

What didn’t work for me?

Narrative style – There’s still something almost clumsy about the writing that makes me want to reach for my red pen. And I think that’s because I so wanted to become lost in the story. I was connected to the characters, but the writing itself I found jarring in places. Repetitions of words in the same paragraphs, lots of telling, redundant dialogue… I dunno. I just felt like the book as a whole could do with a good tightening up. And then it would really be able to shine.

Sex – As much as I admire how the issue itself was handled, I felt that in the end it was treated much like it might have been in Pre 19th Century literature. With a trusty ‘…’ I mean, the ending? We’d been building up to this moment for the whole freaking book and then all we’re told is that it they pass the point of retreat (now waggle your eyebrows, chuckle, and imagine your dirtiest little fantasy). But I don’t want to simply ‘imagine’ it. I want to ‘read’ it. Is that not ok?

Who in the what? – Embarrassing confession. I read this book approximately 20 days after reading Slammed… and I couldn’t remember who any of the secondary characters were. In the first few pages I was desperately wracking my brain: Eddie, Gavin, Kel, Caulder.. who? It took me a little while to find that sense of relief. ‘I know who these people are! Phew!’

Vaughn – Really? This part I found completely blown out of proportion. Wil was a bit of a doofus. But my GOSH didn’t Layken overreact? Holy pants on fire! If it had been more of a misunderstanding, like if Vaughn had literally thrown herself on Wil, then maybe I might have found it more believable. As it was, it felt too obvious that the only reason that poor, vapid woman was dragged into this story was to facilitate a break up.

__

 

I thought this book had some really touching moments. It also had some proper toe-curling ‘omg’ moments and I reveled in those. But there was a lot of un-muchness to the narrative where nothing was happening and I struggled with those pages. All in all it’s a light read, much like the first, and easy to jump into. It doesn’t ask anything of the reader, so if you’re in the mood for something to guide through a nice story, then this is definitely for you.

And let’s face it, sometimes we need that kind of book, true?

A happy 3 out of 5 stars. I like Hoover’s books. I don’t love them. But I’ll continue to read them without a second thought. Does that sound weird? :s

(still hate this cover set.. blegh)

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!