Posted in BookBlogWriMo

BookBlogWriMo #21 – #FlashbackFriday

Wow. My first reviews? Irk!

I think the first review was Angela Carter’s Fireworks. It’s interesting because I was using my old ratings system then and I can still see how that can work well, but I don’t want to run the risk of gaining more grumbles if I bring it back.

And then there’s The Yonahlossee Riding Camp For Girls. I didn’t get on with this book at all. It was a recommendation from a friend… Yeah. Poor choice.

I’ve noticed that a lot of my older reviews are shorter and less structured than how I would tackle a review now. I kinda miss the relaxed, conversational style. But I think I owe it to people to show a balanced perspective… Except when I’m fangirling. Balance goes out the window and it’s replaced, readily, with ‘bias’. xD

What about you? Has your reviewing style changed?

Pusheen Cat (43)Pusheen is listening. He’s a good listener. As long as there’s food.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

3 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo #21 – #FlashbackFriday

  1. Those cats are SO ADORABLE. ๐Ÿ˜€
    My review style has definitely changed over the years. I’m more specific now with what I liked and didn’t like about a book, and I’m also think more critically about books in general.

Talk to me!

