Posted in BookBlogWriMo

BookBlogWriMo #14 – Your Ratings System

bookblogwrimo-banner

 

Ah, ratings.

When I started this blog I used to have a slightly bizarre ratings system. I was using my Creative Writing degree classifications. I lifted the wording from the guidelines and did a little bit of editing to make it fit the purpose…

I thought it was cool.

But I received a couple messages from people who found it confusing.. and I got the impression they also wanted to say ‘pretentious’ and ‘dull’.

So I reverted to a more classic star rating system which ties in with my Goodreads ratings too.

You can visit my ratings page, but hey, I’m all about time saving so I pasted it here too:

5 – I love it. Could be described as a literary masterpiece. Or it made me cry, ache, laugh, so much that I felt like I would die if I ran out of pages to read. As close to perfection as a book can get. No grammar niggles, no clunky dialogue, no reason for me to doubt the protagonist.

4 – I love/like it. A real page turner with characters that stay with me long after I’ve put it down. Some minor moments that make my inner editor twitch, but generally a smooth read. I find it incredibly difficult to give anything 5/5 because nothing is perfect.. so 4/5 is way up there for me.

3 – I like it. A good read. Good character development. But I had some issues with the plot, narrative style, dialogue, motives, themes, etc. Ideas well thought of but not followed through with enough conviction to make me care. Fun, but not necessarily memorable.

2 – I like/didn’t like it. This can encompass any number of things, but ultimately I was let down by the narrative. Some real potential, but it’s not realised and it frustrated me.

1 – I didn’t like it. The book fails to engage me in any way. Poor handling of themes, sloppy or irresponsible writing, flat characters.

0 – I’m offended. I hope this is never required, but will be used if a story irresponsibly takes on controversial themes, or themes of a delicate nature, and does not show respect or understand. There is a lack of knowledge, or it feels like the author should have researched their topic more thoroughly. Memorable for all the wrong reasons.

DNF – Did not finish. Again, I hope this never happens. But it might. A book has to go to great lengths to offend me, or bore me so bad I want to poke my eyes out, to make me want to put it down forever. If this happens I will do the best I can to explain why.

___

For comic books, manga, graphic novels-

It didn’t seem fair to rate these very visual and artistic publications in the same way as traditional prose. Therefore, I’m using these cute little Japanese emoji:

=͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ

A graphic book can receive a top rating of 5/5 bears.

‘Cause bears are cool. Don’t try and tell me otherwise.

___

So that’s me! What about you? I love the funky graphics some of y’all have for your ratings. I’m far too technologically challenged to attempt that. 

Pusheen Cat (12)This would be me… trying to make flashy ratings graphics… Fail.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo #14 – Your Ratings System

  1. I can’t do graphics either, but definitely get jealous of some of the ones that are out there. I also have a really hard time giving a book 5 stars. Since starting my blog, I’ve never given a book 5 stars, but there are a number of 4s and 4.5s.

    1. I used to be quite a tough cookie when it came to giving five star ratings, but something has changed. I think it’s because I’ve been free to read more books that I ‘want’ to read rather than those that I ‘have’ to read.

      Still, it takes something really special to hand out 5 perfect stars!!

  2. Your new ratings scheme seems lovely and clear – although I liked your previous system too!

    I’ve considered using a rating system and probably should, however that would require me to be more consistent! Although I am happily jealous about how logical, clear and consistent your system looks!

Talk to me!

