Posted in BookBlogWriMo

BookBlogWriMo #12 – Advice(?) for newbie bloggers

bookblogwrimo-banner

I put a question mark there because it remains to be seen if what I spew forth can be truly called ‘advice’.

I did a post over on my sister blog about using social media, and much of what I say there is relevant here.

I’ll break it down nice and quick:

  1. Know your motives, and identify what you want to get out of it all. If you’re blogging because you love books, or because you feel like a volatile volcano ready to explode with book talk, or if you enjoy chatting, or if you just like making pretty quote graphics… Well.. Carry on regardless! I think it can become lacklustre, or disappointing, if you’re main goal for blogging isn’t, primarily, to do it for yourself. Everything else is secondary.
  2. Scheduling is your friend. I know some people like to just post whenever and however, and if that works for you, then great! But I read a lot of books. I also have a lot of other commitments. If I don’t get my posts down quickly, I will forget what I wanted to write. Also, scheduling allows me a little breathing room. It means if I go through a particularly busy week, I don’t have to worry about a lack of content across my various blogs (I’m currently up to three. THREE! I know, I have issues). It can be useful to have a couple posts saved in your drafts for rainy days and emergencies.
  3. Visit others. I’m not going to come to your house and bend your arm until you visit my blog.. But it’s nice, you know? To get around the WordPress reader, at least. If nothing else, it can give you some ideas for your own blog/posts.
  4. Be nice. Be polite. Say your pleases and thank yous. It’s basic online ettiquette. If someone leaves a comment, reply or ‘like’ it. And if someone says something you don’t agree with, the best course of action is to ignore it. Or report it. Don’t bother retaliating. Don’t feed the trolls!
  5. Stop looking at your stats. I can’t say this enough. If you’re having fun, who cares if your cat is the only visitor to your page? Your stats will start to rule you, and that will ruin the whole party.

I could probably waffle on forever. And I’m sure this is old hat to most of you, but I think it can help to be reminded sometimes, especially about the ‘be nice’ point. Karma will find you, and it will kill you (awful ‘Taken’ reference).

Thanks again to bookbumblings for hosting this whole BookBlogWriMo thing. It’s gosh darn fun!

What do you think? What else would you say to newbie bloggers? 

Ah! Almost forgot:

Pusheen Cat (67)
Pusheen approves this message.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

One thought on “BookBlogWriMo #12 – Advice(?) for newbie bloggers

  1. Great advice. This would have been the perfect post for me to read when I first started blogging. I’m glad I finally started to pick up on some of these I still need to work on scheduling posts. I’m terrible with it. I usually end up thinking about a post I want to do and then not doing it or waiting too long to actually post it.

Talk to me!

