Posted in BookBlogWriMo

BookBlogWriMo #9 – Your Blogging Workflow – plus bonus book review!

bookblogwrimo-banner

 

Oh I’ve got flow alright.

I flow right from sensible to psycho without missing a beat!

I’m going to try to explain how this works for me when I’m doing a review. Other articles and memes have a  slightly different thought process. So here’s how I cobble together a book review:

Let’s say I’ve just finished reading Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (oh hey! I have!)

First things first, I usually finish a book at silly o’clock at night, so I’ll sleep on it… hoping to have Grisha filled dreams.

The next day I like to bash out a review because I’m always reading something. If I leave it too long, I’ll forget what my feelings were. I follow this pattern:

  1. Initial reaction to the book – I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the first book. That’s not to say I still didn’t enjoy the heck out of it, because I did. I am loving this series. But there was less punch in this one, I felt.
  2. What worked for me – Alina’s sense of humour within the narrative. The narrative style, because some of the phrasing makes me despair at my own writing. The Darkling is still a badass, and I love him. The epic quest for power, gimme, gimme! World building is still epic! Nokolai is a boss.
  3. What didn’t work for me – Mal, I found him flat, I just felt nothing (sowwy). I felt like it was plodding along for a long while, before smacking you with it at the end. I also got confused in some parts, but I think it was because I was too eager to keep moving along, I skipped some of the more talky-political type sections. 
  4. A conclusion and rating – As seen on Goodreads, I gave it a 4 star rating, missing out on perfection because I just didn’t connect with the story and characters as well in this one. But the ending is a corker, and it saved the whole read for me. 
  5. Housekeeping – This is where I gather cover art and blurbs from Goodreads and make sure I’ve quoted the right edition, and also where I got the book from. This is also when I go through and ‘bold’ headings and important phrases.
  6. Check out what others are saying about the book – add quotes or discuss where necessary.
  7. Tag it and bag it! – All that’s left now is to tag it and schedule that mother to go live in a WordPress Reader near you soon! Woot!

(I have since read the final book in The Grisha series and I have to admit, Mal converted me. He’s super cool in Ruin and Rising) *cough* Team Darkling *cough*

__

So yeah, that’s basically how it works for me. It’s pretty straightforward. Probably quite boring to read too.

I surprised someone recently by admitting that I don’t make any notes while I’m reading. I think that if something is that important, I’ll remember it. If I haven’t remembered to mention it in my write-up then the book hasn’t done a good job of making like glue and sticking itself to my mind. Like wallpaper.

That’s right. A good book is like wallpaper. It’s pasted to the side of your skull until something better comes along and replaces it with a new pattern.

Pusheen Cat (1)Pusheen aproves this message.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

7 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo #9 – Your Blogging Workflow – plus bonus book review!

      1. True that! But I’m a stubborn bean, I refuse to spend money unless I really have to. You can do some funky things with headers and backgrounds, and sometimes that’s all you need to make it look unique.

      2. 🙂 Haha I know what you mean and I feel the same way about spending money.. The only thing I do not (ever) regret spending on are books 😀

Talk to me!

