Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Book Talk: Be With Me by J Lynn

19926539

Be With Me by J Lynn (Harper 2014) Borrowed from my local library

“Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…”

This is probably going to be a garbled mess because I LOVED this book. Capital letters are necessary because I LOVED it so much!

I feel quite strongly that J Lynn (or Jennifer Armentrout) is a better fit for me, as a writer, when she’s writing New Adult type titles than YA. I like her YA books… but there’s something about her NA titles that really pop for me.

I think I liked this book better than its predecessor. I found Teresa easy to connect with and that opening scene had me swooning over Jase immediately! Ha!

I loved the way this was set up- hinging on a moment from a year ago (I think? A short while ago, at least) and how Tess finds herself in a situation from her worst nightmares. But she bounces back and finds a way through, and I always admire that in a character. Acceptance and change, when all other options are cut off from you.

There were a few shocking plot twists. I didn’t see them coming! At all! And then it’s like POW have that in your face. It knocked me for six!

The ending sets it up nicely for the next book which I cannot WAIT to read. It’s working its was to the top of my ‘to read’ pile.

Sorry if this seems like it’s a bit short. And completely garbled. But what can I do? I was IN LOVE with this book. I think it was definitely a case of ‘right book, right time’, but nevertheless, it rocked my world.

An easy 5 out of 5. 

…does anyone else suffer from complete communication breakdown when they really, really like something?

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Book Talk: Be With Me by J Lynn

  1. I suffer from complete communication breakdown when I really like something, too… especially when it’s book related xD I’m so glad you’re liking Jennifer L. Armentrout 😀 I haven’t read any of her NA titles, and though I don’t usually read that genre, any JLA book is a must for me. I look forward to reading this!

Talk to me!

