Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Patch Up by Stephanie Witter

17979646Patch Up by Stephanie Witter (Anchor Group Publishing, 2013) Received, with thanks, from NetGalley.

Skye followed her long time boyfriend to Seattle for their first year of college, but he dumped her after only a week. The relationship brought only pain and destruction in Skye’s life, and yet, she can’t bring herself to open up and live her life.

“What if I am already broken into pieces?”

She hates to be touched, hiding under her oversized shirts and behind her wild frizzy hair. Even her bubbly roommate can’t reach her. And yet …

“I’m the guy who knows how you can hurt so much that your insides feel like they’re cut and bleeding.”

The tall, handsome, and tattooed TA in her psychology class changes everything when he literally collides with her and confronts her. For the first time in a long time, she wants to try and open up to this guy whose dark, intense eyes can’t hide his own pain despite his dazzling smile getting to her.

However, just when she’s starting to live again, her ex-boyfriend comes back, breaking her time and time again, making it all the more complicated.

She wants to fight for herself and for this building thing with the TA, even when he pushes her away, but can two broken people patch each other up?

“I never thought colliding with someone could change lives, but it is possible.”

So.. that’s one heck of a blurb, eh? Like one of those movie trailers that leaves you feeling like you’ve already seen all of the film.

Generally speaking, I liked the story here. It’s got plenty of ups and downs and action to keep me interested. What lets the story down ultimately is the writing. Without a doubt, it’s easy to read and easy to just go with it- it doesn’t require you to think. At all. For me, I felt like I was being told too much, and there was nothing unexpected about the characters, or the scenes. Basically, it was nothing that I haven’t read before.

That said, I thought Skye had a lot of potential as a character. What I felt was missing was a real defining moment. A moment of real strength and fire. I admire that the author takes on some difficult themes and issues, but I felt like these became too much of a focus, and as such, Skye isn’t given enough breathing space on the page. Also, I didn’t like how Skye seemed to look down at everyone at first. This does change, but still there’s a kind of sneery quality to her when it comes to certain behaviours and habits.

There were some holes in the plot. At least, I felt there were. Skye ends up in some terrible situations. But she also admits that she’s more ‘flight’ than ‘fight’ and on more than one occasion disaster could have been avoided if she had done just that. Just run away! Scream and run!

I’m interested to see what else is in store for these characters. Duke was cool, even if his temper was somewhat out of place. And I hope that Skye develops further in the next book. She needs to!

All things considered I gave this book 2 out of 5. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it! Sometimes characters have a way of worming their way into your heart. But the writing was a little basic and lacked a certain finesse that I look for within a narrative. The characters were compelling, but inconsistent. But it was an easy read, and sometimes that’s all you need.

(I really like the cover to this.. but that is so not how I imagine Skye!)

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

