Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

16101168

 

I loved Anna and the French Kiss. So much. Etienne… I mean, even his NAME is enough to swoon over, true?

So, going into Lola, I knew I was going to like it because I’ve become besotted with Perkins’ writing style. It’s so understated, and yet I always feel like I’m reading something iconic and historic in the realms of YA fiction.

However, I found Lola harder to warm up to. I didn’t have the initial ‘click’ that I had with Anna. I found the beginning of Lola chaotic and confusing. There were so many characters in the first few pages and I was struggling to make sense of it all. And they’re all BIG characters too, their personalities and descriptions so large and dramatic, it was just too much!

Also, I was expecting there to be more to it when it came to Lola’s trauma (because let’s face it, she’s a freak when it comes to the twins! The love of her!) regarding Calliope and Cricket. I thought it was lacking the extra something that would make someone react in that way. But, each to their own- it still worked, I just wanted more of a punch, you know?

I did appreciate how Lola’s home life and upbringing wasn’t made into such a big deal. Much like Rachel in Glee; it is what it is. It’s not making a statement out of it, or any standoff. It’s just normal. Because it IS normal! I guess I was just glad that it was handled with integrity.

Overall, this was a sweet story. It’s warm and cloying and I really did enjoy the read. I don’t think it shines quite as brightly in the shadow of Anna, but it was interesting to see how their lives crossed paths and intertwined. The whole situation with Max was spot on!

I still gave it 5 stars because the writing itself is fantastic and I couldn’t put it down!

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

6 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Yess! I agree – Etienne was so cool and I totally loved Anna and the French Kiss too! I really liked Lola and the Boy Next Door too 😀 Have you read the last book in the series? 🙂

Talk to me!

