Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Book Talk: Fracture and Vengeance by Megan Miranda

1824372715697915

Cool covers eh?

So, I borrowed these two from the library last week and boy was I glad!

Here’s the blurb for Fracture:

When Decker found Delaney kissing his best friend Carson, he told himself that it meant nothing. But then Carson calls to Delaney from across the vast frozen lake. Jealous, Decker insists they walk over the fragile ice. Halfway, he leaves her there …Ten minutes without air, Delaney will be dead. Decker pulls her out of the icy waters after eleven. Delaney is alive, but now she is drawn to those who are dying …and to stranger, Troy – someone Decker should see as a threat

This book rocked. I mean, I loved Delaney and I found it real easy to let myself fall into the story. She’s not weak, but she’s not indestructible, and I think that’s really important, especially for a contemporary YA title. We need more ‘normal’ protagonists.

But hell, she’s not what most would call ‘normal’, her brain works differently. She’s a miracle. She’s an abomination. She’s brilliant! Although, I really wouldn’t like to be able to ‘sense’ death in people. What a horrible line you have to tread between what is right for you and them.

I enjoyed the story of Fracture very much. I would have liked to have seen more from Troy (because, swoon!) but even I didn’t predict the ending of this book to be so.. final.. for him.

Fracture is clever. It toys with the psychology of paranormal possibilities. And this is then built upon in Vengeance. Blurb:

Falcon Lake wants vengeance. And so, it seems, does someone else… An intense, heart-rending psychological thriller to accompany the chilling and seductive Fracture

When Decker drags his best friend Delaney’s lifeless body out of the frozen lake, he makes a deal: Anyone but her. Everyone but her. The lake releases her. It takes another…

All their friends blame Delaney for Carson’s death. But Decker knows the truth: Delaney is drawn to those who are dying, and she would have tried to help Carson.

Or so Decker believes until a body lies in front of him in a pool of water on his kitchen floor. Until he sees in Delaney’s eyes that she knew this would happen too – and she said nothing. Until he realises it isn’t the lake that is looking for revenge – Delaney is part of someone else’s plan.

I wasn’t as ‘spellbound’ by this sequel. I think it was the change in perspective- we’re now reading from Decker’s point of view. Which, makes sense, in part. I think much of the suspense and tension would be lost if we were seeing it all through Delaney’s eyes. It would lose some of its mystery.

But Decker is so frustrating!

He walks around pissed off at the world for two thirds of this book, and that can be wearying to read, you know?

I did, however, get a stronger sense of what this pack of teens must be feeling like. Decker is the everydude’s dude. But man, it was heartbreaking to watch him push Delaney away time, after time, after time. And there was a little part of me that wanted her to push back long before she actually did.. and harder. Stupid boys.

I thought that aside from the main plot, there were some interesting questions asked here about growing up and coming of age- like when you’re parents have to have that awkward talk with you because you’re dead set on following your beau across the country so you can go to the same college. It’s difficult because, of course, for some people it’s a massive mistake. But for others, the only mistake is choosing NOT to follow them, true?

There’s also a wonderful handling of life and death here, and the effects it can have on younger peoples.

I admire the way the whole family unit is brought into the equation in these books- and it’s quite refreshing to have the main characters in steady, functional family settings. Sure, there’s problems, but the author has her characters work them through.

__

I  found these two books so easy to slip into. Sure, I enjoyed the first better than the second, but I was too invested in the characters not to continue!

I like how this approaches the plot/themes. I think it could have been easy to fall back on the supernatural or paranormal, but instead there is something decidedly more human lurking behind each action and motion.

The writing is blummin’ good. I enjoyed the descriptions of the lake and how it permeated the rest of the narrative.

A very happy 4/5 overall for these two. (I gave Fracture 4/5 and Vengeance 3.5/5 on Goodreads) It’s darn good writing. I was a little sad this wasn’t a trilogy. I’d liked to have followed these characters further.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

