Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Wait For You by J Lynn

18224475

 

Avery knows she should stay away from Cam Hamilton: he might be the hottest guy on campus but she really doesn’t need that sort of drama right now. Love is best left in the past – along with her troubles. But sometimes, the last thing you want, is just the thing you need

A short and sharp blurb! I like it!

I really liked this book. It wasn’t at all what I was expecting, especially after it being described as being somewhere between ‘One Day and Fifty Shades of Grey.’

It’s not. It’s so much better.

A New Adult book, but it felt younger than the NA books I’ve been reading. And I think this highlights just how diverse this category can be. The second ‘coming’ once you’ve clawed your way out of your teens really can happen at any time. You know the one I mean, where you suddenly realise that the world expects you to be an adult, but you’re not sure you feel like it yet. And that support network that caught you through your teens is gone..

I think ‘Wait For You’ really captures the essence of what I feel ‘New Adult’ means.

It’s also so refreshing to have the girl interested in a guy that doesn’t need ‘fixing’. He’s still a badass.. And hawt. But he’s kinda perfect. In a flawed way. It’s really nice to see the girl making all the mistakes, you know? She fluffs things up, and not only because of her hang-ups and issues etc.

I admired how the ‘secret’ harboured by the main character wasn’t revealed to the reader all at once. We had to piece it together just the same as Cam. (Oh Cam! I love thee!)

The end chapters were a bit of a puzzle, however. I mean, we’d effectively had the HEA.. so I wasn’t sure where we were going. I’m not sure if it was all necessary, but it was still sweet. It also sets things up nicely for the next book, true?

In the end, I gave ‘Wait For You’ 4 out of 5. Even though I enjoyed the read very much, it did have a strong case of the ‘repeatees’. Which is to say, there are only so many ways you can describe a ‘blush’ or ‘the heat’ between the characters.. so maybe find a different aspect to focus on, eh? And also, the stretched out ending contributed to having a star knocked off.

It was nice to read something much lighter than some of the more hardcore, heavy duty New Adult books out there. Sometimes I start to feel like I’m missing out on life, or something, by not having a large scale drama going on during every waking second. Avery and Cam have their moments, but they are endearingly normal.

A lovely read. Really lovely. One of the best in its category.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

