Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: One Tiny Lie by K. A. Tucker

17302495One Tiny Lie by K A Tucker (Atria Books, 2013) – bought this my own gory-damn self 🙂

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows

So I was a little worried that this would be a case of a follow-up being a complete flop (see ‘Walking Disaster’ post..)

Thank CHUFF my worries were unfounded. I think One Tiny Lie is actually better than Ten Tiny Breaths.

There. I said it.

So, What Did I Like?

Livie – She was easier for me to identify with compared to her sister. I mean, I loved Kacey, but not many of us can truly identify with her situation/issues. Livie, on the other hand.. Yeah. This was me at my first stab at university. Minus the hot rowing team. I chose the wrong institution.. :/

Cringe! – Oh my word. There were so many uncomfortable moments where my stomach tied itself in knots and my toes curled and I genuinely felt it. It was truly a case of ‘yep, been there’, and my gosh was it awkward to have to revisit some of my less elegant moments in time..

Ashton – Hello! *waggles eyebrows*

The Wrong Mr Right – I loved that Livie doesn’t just throw herself at the first guy she gets a throb on for (yeah, I actually said that. Get over it.) She does what many of us do.. we settle for the person that seems right.

What Didn’t Work For Me?

Not a lot, really.

Morals – Yeah, there was some part of me still niggly after the first book. Is it a cultural thing? Maybe. I’m actually going to look into this some more (Google beckons..) But there is a distinct disregard for contraception in these books, and in a lot of similar US titles. Wrap it up guys! And girls? Make sure you get it wrapped before it’s stuck anywhere near you! Goddamn!

Tattoos – Whoa! Hello?! Reckless much? I’m very much a ‘tattoos are a piece of art’ kind of gal. I’m not a fan of ‘yeah, I was drunk, isn’t it purty?’ ink.

__

I’m in love with Tucker’s writing style. There’s a perfect balance between self absorption (for the character) and wider considerations. It’s relaxed, but still manages to be mildly poetic at times. It’s atmospheric. It’s fun. It’s balls to the wall crazy! It’s got the feels. It’s just my kind of book.

A high, high, HIGH 5 out of 5 stars for this book.

I can’t wait to get my hands on the third and fourth books. I feel a trip to Amazon Street is necessary right about now.

Anyone else just as in love with this series? Or maybe you didn’t feel it? Talk to me!

 

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

