Posted in Chit Chat

Some bookish Questions

55, to be exact. Stick with me, yeh?

Originally from The Literary Lollipop but I spied this over at Luna’s Little Library and knew I had to give it a whirl.

1. Favourite childhood book:
Ooh, I used to love The Pony Club series, earlier than that it was Sophie’s adventures by Dick King-Smith.

What are you reading right now?
At the time of writing this post –

What books do you have on request at the library?
None. I just see what they got then grab n’ go.

Bad book habit:
Starting other books while I’m still reading one.

What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Fracture, and Vengeance both by Megan Miranda. Also,  Finding It by Cora Cormack

Do you have an e-reader?
A kindle. And I’m not ashamed either. It saves me space, and money, in the long run.

Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
It can depend on my mood. I usually have one book on the go, with a couple others I read inbetween times.

Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Very much so! I fell heavily into the NetGalley trap, and it’s only recently that I’ve let myself relax a little. It’s tiring reading so many ARCs. I’ve also started reading a whole lot more.

Least favourite book you read this year:
Hm, probably Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire (click for ‘review’). But I have a real problem with how that book was presented to the reader.

Favourite book you’ve read this year:

Oh, I’ve read some good ones this year! I’ll have to name a few (and this list is not definitive)

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Some Fine Day by Kat Ross

Ten Tiny Breaths by K A Tucker

How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Not often, which is why this summer I have embarked on a mission to change that. I even posted about it here.

What is your reading comfort zone?
Urban fantasy, paranormal romance. And I’ll happily move between YA and adult for those genres.

Can you read on the bus?
Yes. But not in the car.

Favourite place to read?
In bed 🙂

What’s your policy on book lending?
Go get yer own! *hugs book to chest*

Do you dogear your books?
Yes. Sometimes. If it’s a second-hand book, then no problem! If it’s brand new I can be a little precious about it.

Do you write notes in the margins of your books?
Fuck. No.

Do you break/crack the spine of your books?
No. Unless normal wear and tear does it for me.

What is your favourite language to read?
English. I could try and read something in French.. but.. it would take me all year.

What makes you love a book?
A character that makes me feel desperate to keep reading. And chemistry. There has to be a crackling energy between two characters for me to really get into it.

What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If I had butterflies while reading I’ll be sure to pass on it’s name and number to my superiors 😉

Favourite genre:
Urban Fantasy

Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?):
Crime.

Favourite Biography:
I don’t read many. The last one was Russel Brand’s Booky Wook.

Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?)
I have ‘Think Like a Freak’ on my Currently Reading shelf. I’m not far enough in to really know yet.

Favourite Cookbook:
Rick Stein’s India.

Most inspirational book you’ve read this year: (fiction or non-fiction):

Ten Tiny Breaths by K A Tucker – It made me think ‘if I’m gonna do NA, then this is what I want it to feel like’

Favourite reading snack:

I physically can’t eat and read at the same time. My body/brain won’t do it. But I could probably manage Haribo.. something that I can suck/chew for a while.

Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:
The Hunger Games – I still can’t bring myself to read them. Too much hype.

How often do you agree with the critics about about a book?
It depends what you classify as a ‘critic’ – I like to see what my fellow bloggers have said about a book. Critics get paid to write good/bad things about a book, so I’m not really sure how far you can trust ’em.

How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I like to be honest. If a book doesn’t work, or if it was poorly written, I ain’t gonna pretend otherwise. But I will NEVER attack or flame an author personally. Ever. It’s just not done.

If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?
Japanese! (<– Luna’s answer.. but mine too!) I’m learning.. slowly.

Most intimidating book I’ve read:
is James Joyce’s Ulysses.. I didn’t finish it. I elected to come back on another day.. :s

Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:
The Bible.

Favourite Poet:
Seamus Heaney. Or Sylvia Plath. Depends on my mood 🙂

How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?
No more than 3 at a time.. I just won’t read them else.

How often do you return books to the library unread?
I’m OCD about it. It just can’t happen for me.

Favourite fictional character:
Lucius Malfoy from Harry Potter.

Demitri Belikov from Vampire Academy

Jay Gatsby from The Great Gatsby

Favourite fictional villain:
Lucius Malfoy! Heh heh.

Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation:
Light reads. Usually something sunny, or beach based. I like taking Shakespeare with me.. because I’m weird like that.

The longest I’ve gone without reading:
Ooh! I had a phase where I just wasn’t reading anything.. that must have been about 4 years ago. I was going months between books.. compared to hours. Lols.

Name a book you could/would not finish:
Thirteen by Tom Hoyle

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Not a lot. Unless Family Guy is on the tellybox..

Favourite film adaptation of a novel:
Lord of the Rings

or.. maybe Little Women

OH! Sense and Sensibility is good too (the one with Alan Rickman et al)

Most disappointing film adaptation:
Twilight. Kristen Stewart. ‘Nuff said.

Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:
Not sure.. I think I spent nearly £100 once.. But I was buying for Xmas presents for peoples too.

How often do you skim a book before reading it?:
Never.

What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?:
It takes a lot for me to mark a book as DNF. It has to be making me want to slam my head into a wall, or poke my eyes out, rather than keep reading. Basically, extreme boredom is a likely contributor. Also, shoddy writing.

Do you like to keep your books organised?:
I do.. but I don’t. My book shelf is a joke!

Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?:
I’m usually quite the hoarder. But lately I’ve been getting better at asking myself ‘will I read this again? No? Well send it to the charity shop then!’

Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?:
Hmm. Well, there’s The Hunger Games, as mentioned above. But also 50 Shades of Gray. That book will NEVER be read by me.

Name a book that made you angry:
Beautiful Disaster by Jaime McGuire (<–Luna’s answer) Aww, really? I liked that book.. it was its sequel that made me see red and want to throw shit.

A book I didn’t expect to like but did:
Wait For You by J Lynn – I’ve had a mixed experience with this author.. but I really liked her writing for an NA audience. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series!

A book I expected to like but didn’t:
Incubus by Carol Goodman – it had all the components.. but it just didn’t realise its potential.

Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading:
I can usually fall back on YA and feel pretty confident that I’ll enjoy it.

__

 

Well, there you go! 🙂

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Some bookish Questions

  1. Your answers were fun to read!

    I agree with most of these. Giving my books out to people makes me cringe. I’m all for sharing the love of reading, but they’ll just have to get their books at the library, haha.

    I’ve been close to the Netgalley trap. I forget how many books I’ve requested and end up with way too many books to read. Plus, the approval ratio is evil!

    I’m always worried about hyped books because I don’t want to be the one to dislike it, and sometimes, I end up not liking it as much as I would have if others didn’t hype it as much.

    Okay, I should be done now. 🙂

    1. *whispers* NetGalley is a wonderful kind of evil.. heh heh. Don’t tell it I said that 😉

      Thanks for reading this through! I didnt think 55 questions would be this long.. but.. duh!

Talk to me!

