Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

15745950

 

I’m gonna make this quick.

I don’t see the point of this book.

If I had bought it with my own money, I would have been angry. But as it was, I had only borrowed it from the library, full of optimism and excitement.

I didn’t realise beforehand that this was ‘Beautiful Disaster’ but from Travis’ POV. But that could have been ok, I’m down with a re-telling.

But this is copied. Pasted. And then damn well published. It offered hardly anything in the way of extra content and I found that seeing it from Travis’ perspective undid a lot of work that was made in the previous book to make both characters seem like reasonable, semi-adults.

I had a lot of high hopes and excitement for a sequel to Beautiful Disaster.. But this was not what I expected at all.

Can somebody please enlighten me as to the point of this book? I don’t understand why anyone would want to sit and read one book.. twice.. The element of surprise is lost!

That said, I’m going to read Beautiful Oblivion, it’s currently on order. I’m giving McGuire a chance to redeem herself. Please, please, PLEASE, let it be a good ‘un.

 

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

6 thoughts on “Review: Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. I was so excited to read this book, but it was such a disappointment. Like you said, basically copy and pasted from the first, which I thought was totally amazing! I don’t know if you experienced this too, but I felt like this book portrayed Abby as an annoying, spoiled little prissy, which she totally wasn’t in the first one! It just made me so angry 😦

    1. Oh for sure!! I felt cheated. And I felt like the characters became totally intolerable.

      Im so glad im not the only one to feel this way about it! After all the glowing reviews for this book I thought I was going daft.

      Thanks for stopping by!!

      🙂

Talk to me!

