Posted in Chit Chat

Book Tour: Excerpt from ‘Stay’ by Hilary Wynne

StayTourBanner1

I’ve got a lot of love for this author and a lot of love for this book! So it was such a delight to be able to be a part of this.

It’s my first book tour too! 😀

Click the banner above for the full tour schedule.

Reviews elsewhere on the tour today:

I’ve already reviewed (and fangirled over) the book here. And you can even check out an author interview here.

I hope you enjoy the heck out of this excerpt!!

 

“You accused me last night of pushing you away. You’re doing the same to me, and I’m not threatening you, but if you don’t stop I’ll walk away. I don’t want to, but I will. I can’t or won’t stay in a relationship without trust.”

He stops, and I wait to see if he’s going to continue. It seems he’s finished. He stands there with his arms crossed staring at me, waiting to hear what I have to say for myself. All I know right now is that my heart would break if he walked away from this. I want to wrap my arms around him and give him the biggest hug, but I can’t tell if he would be receptive, so I stay where I am.

“I’m sorry what I said hurt you. It wasn’t my intention. I was just trying to be honest. I want you to understand why I’m struggling with all of this. I run when I feel scared and vulnerable. I’m aware it isn’t the best way to handle things, and I’m trying hard to not do that, but it’s been my go-to way of self-preservation for a while now, and it’s going to take some time to change. I shouldn’t have said anything to Marissa, or Luke, and I won’t do it again. My list of people I really trust, people that really know me, isn’t much bigger than yours, so I get that completely. I’m honored you want me on that list, but that level of emotion also scares me to death. We just met a few weeks ago.”

Julian is still just staring at me, letting me finish like I did for him. “It would break my heart if you walked away, but I can’t tell you there won’t be more times like this.” I stop, and he waits to see if I continue before he responds. When he sees I’m done, he asks me a simple question.

“Do you want this to happen? I mean really happen?”

I swear he’s holding his breath, and in this moment I know he wants this as much as I do. I walk to him and wrap my arms around him. He does the same, and it feels right. I look at him directly in the eyes so nothing is hidden.

“Yes. I really want this. More than anything I’ve wanted in so long. It’s going to be epic, remember?”

Phew! It’s emotional stuff, eh? Cue excuse to make a graphic! Mmmmm, Florida…

stay pic 1

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

One thought on “Book Tour: Excerpt from ‘Stay’ by Hilary Wynne

Talk to me!

